(Cedar Rapids, IA 06/06/2014)--  A large, enthusiastic “100.7/The Fox Free Race”  crowd was treated to some great racing Friday night at historic Hawkeye Downs Speedway. The annual Free Race was presented with the help of DuPaCo Credit Union and MopedU.

            Tom Burke earned his first HyVee Racing Series feature win since returning to Hawkeye Downs as he took top honors in the Mountain Dew Sportsmen Feature.  Burke took advantage of the pole position in building an early lead and then held off Jim Hanson and Greg Hentrich to claim the win.  The trio was running nose-to-tail with five laps remaining when both Hanson and Hentrich decided to make their move. In the process Hanson and Hentrich touched as they ran three-wide. Hanson recovered a little faster than Hentrich to score second place leaving Hentrich in third.


            Tim Goettsch survived a wild Dublin City Pub Legends feature to earn his third trip to victory lane this season. Matt Blake led the first 17 laps of the scheduled 25 lap feature before Kevin Korsmo captured the point with Austin Kunert right on his tail. Three laps later Kunert slipped a bit while challenging Korsmo turning the leader and bringing out caution. On the restart Tim Goetsch moved to challenge Korsmo and with just two laps remaining he made what would be the winning pass to secure his third feature win of 2014.  Korsmo finished second while Blake was third.


            Kurt Bohnsack earned his sixth straight win in the Sunline Hornets but it may not been quite as easy as the previous wins this season.  Steve Woodrow held the early lead but got a bit loose on the backstretch  as the fourth lap ticked off the board sending Brad Schmidt to the lead. Three laps later Kurt Bohnsack wrestled the lead away from Schmidt, but just barely. With three laps remaining Schmidt fought back, regaining the lead for one lap before Bohnsack took back the point for good with two laps to go. Schmidt maintained second while Troy Scott finished third.


            The Barron Motor Supply Hobby Stocks  was also a wild affair and included a caution on the first lap as several cars got together in turn three.  Jacob Floyd led most of the first half of the race once the action restarted with Matt Petrzelka his closest pursuer. The action tightened up with 5 laps to go and just as Petrzelka tried to clear Jacob, Kandi Floyd tried a move as well which sent the leaders spinning.  Petrzelka and Jacob Floyd retained their spots on the restart and back under green Petrzelka began to pull away just a bit.  Jim Hanson slipped around Kandi Floyd as the final laps ticked off but had no time to make a run at the leader and he settled for second. Kandi Floyd was third.


            Finally, the CarpetlandUSA Late Model feature was “business as usual” for Tim Plummer although he and Brad Osborn did swap the lead back and forth early in the race. Osborn took the lead on lap two after Chad Siems got a bit high in turns one and two. On the next lap Tim Plummer slipped around Osborn briefly before Osborn regained the lead on lap four. With turnaboput being fair play, Plummer took back the top spot for good on the next lap and this time he held the spot for good. Osborn chased him the rest of the way and finished second. Brian Allen crossed the line in third.




100.7/The Fox Free Race presented by DuPaCo and MopedU

June 6, 2014


HEAT 1- 1. (86) Kevin Korsmo, Atkins; 2. (21) Mark Greb, Coralville; 3.(51) Bryce Bailey, Cedar Rapids; 4. (88) Matt Blalke, Cedar Rapids; 5. (66) Dennis Diercks, Eldridge; 6. (R8) Ross Davisson, Coralville; 7. (00) Brody Willett, Alburnett; 8. (13) TJ Aimers

HEAT 2- 1. (01) Tim Goettsch, Bettendorf; 2. (29) Austin Kunert, Batavia, IL; 3. (10) Mark Ironside, Swisher; 4. (25) Cole’Orien, Cedar Rapids; 5. (3) Trent Jochimsen; 6. (43) Gary Dyer, Blue Grass; 7. (54) CJ Van Horn, Marion; DNS- Al Diercks, Davenport

FEATURE (25 laps) 1. Goettsch 2. Korsmo 3. Blake 4. Willett 5. D. Diercks 6. Kunert 7. A. Diercks 8. O’Brien 9. Van Horn 10. Dyer 11. Jochimsen 12. Bailey 13. Greb 14. Ironside 15. Davisson 16. Aimers



HEAT- 1. (7b) Brad Schmidt, Cedar Rapids; 2. (4) Kurt Bohnsack, Ely; 3. (8R) Jeff Dvoraq, Lisbon; 4. (44) Troy Scott, Cedar Rapids; 5. (59) Steve Woodrow, Cedar Rapids; 6. (1) Kaden Reynolds; 7. (16) Todd Ness, Cedar Rapids; 8. (1a) Aaron Moffett

FEATURE (15 laps) 1. Bohnsack 2. Schmidt 3. Scott 4. Dvorak 5. Woodrow 6. Ness 7. Reynolds 8. Moffett



HEAT 1- 1. (77) Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids; 2. (2) Matt Lacoursiere, Cedar Rapids; 3. (12) Brandon Herb, Marion; 4. (48) Adam Petrzelka, Norway; 5. (54) Jason Sherman, Marengo; 6. (57) Malena Clement, Cedar Rapids; DNS- (12j) Bryce Bailey, Cedar Rapids

HEAT 2- 1. (22) Matt Petrzelka, Norway; 2. (29) Nathan Ballard, Marengo; 3. (12k) Kandi Floyd, Cedar Rapids; 4. (4) Kurt Bohnsack, Ely; 5. (14j) Jacob Floyd, Cedar Rapids; 6. (1) Sonny Parker, Cedar Rapids.

FEATURE (15 laps) 1. M. Petrzelka 2. Hanson 3. K. Floyd 4. Ballard 5. Lacoursiere 6. A. Petrzelka 7. Bohnsack 8. Sherman 9. J. Floyd 10. Herb 11. Bailey 12. Clement 13. Parker



HEAT- 1. (5) Tom Burke, Ames; 2.(88) Jim hanson, Cedar Rapids; 3. (35) Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha; 4. (7) John Johnston, Victor; 5. (9D) Dan Schmidt, Cedar Rapids

FEATURE (15 laps) 1. Burke 2. Hanson 3. Hentrich 4. Johnston DNS- Schmidt



HEAT- 1. (72) Brad Osborn, Janesville; 2. (74) Tim Plummer, Norway; 3. (43) Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids; 4. (99) Logan Mitchell, Palmyra, MO; 5. (52) Brian Allen, Hiawatha; 6. (76) Chad Siems, Shellsburg;

FEATURE (25 laps) 1. Plummer 2. Osborn 3. Allen 4. S. Siems 5. C. Siems 6. Mitchell