(Cedar Rapids, IA  06/06/08)--  A warm, breezy late spring evening greeted racers and fans at Hawkeye Downs Speedway Friday along with significantly better racing conditions than last week. There were still a few “weepers” with the saturated ground but nothing like last week.


IMCA SportMods, Sunline Hornets, Barron Motor Supply IMCA Hobby Stocks, Barron Motor Supply Stock Cars, Coors Light Modifieds and Budweiser Sportsmen were all in action along with the Go Karts. The Miller Lite Late Models had the week off.


Ryan Luedtke picked up his second win of the season in IMCA Sportmods, besting a ten-car field after starting inside row three. Luedtke grabbed the lead from Scott Kositzky on lap seven and  left the rest of the field behind. Kositzky maintained second with Jamie Huff, Scott Grady, and Mike Dains also in the top five.


The Sunline Hornets didn’t disappoint once again as the sixteen car field put on a great show. When the dust settled, the “Hanson brothers”-Jim and Shane were at the front of the pack.


The first five laps had so many position changes it was almost impossible to keep track of who was where at any given time.  Greg Wilhelmi led in the early going but Jim Hanson, who started 7th, worked his way into the lead on lap 11 with last week’s winner,  Brad Chandler right on his bumper. Chandler had started in the rear as he was last week’s feature winner. He pulled alongside Hanson a couple times in the last five laps but slipped a bit and then retired from the race with mechanical problems allowing Shane Hanson to nab the runner-up spot behind his brother Jim.  Blake Carson finished third, Nate Chandler was fourth, and Derek Parrott finished fifth.


The win was Jim Hanson’s first of the season.


It was the Gary Pfantz show once again in the Barron Motor supply IMCA Hobby Stocks. After a first lap caution sent pole-sitter Kandi Floyd to the pits along with Tim Dains,  Roland Bohnsack took early control of the race and led until lap 14 when Pfantz powered by and took the lead for good. Bohnsack maintained his hold on second despite challenges from Scott Siems, who finished third. Dennis Klinsky was fourth and Jerry O’Brien, fifth.  Pfantz has racked up four wins in five starts this season with Bohnsack also holding one first place trophy.


In Barron Motor Supply IMCA Stock Cars, Kurt Bohnsack prevailed for his second win of the season, after starting 7th.  Brian Beatty had built up a sizable early lead but a caution on lap six for an apparent blown engine on the Rodney Grother machine  bunched the field for the restart. Bohnsack took command a couple laps after green flag racing resumed and completed the run to the checkers. Bob Ahrendsen finished second while Dennis Hundley, and Mark Bolton filled out the top of the order.  This was Bohnsack’s fourth trip to victory lane in 2008.


Moving to the half-mile, Tim Plummer rubber-stamped his name on first place as he came out on top of a somewhat depleted field of Coors Light Modifieds. Last week’s crash took out two cars and a couple others had other obligations Friday night and didn’t race.  Plummer, who started fifth, took the lead on lap 4 and the race was essentially over at that point. Larry Clausen gave chase in the second spot  but Plummer finished over two seconds ahead of him. Tony Olson was third, Cory Houdek was fourth and Scott Strauss finished fifth.


In Budweiser Sportsmen,  Dave McCalla returned to his winning ways after a rough outing last week but it was exactly easy.  Weber led much of the race with McCalla mounting a serious challenge in the last five laps. With three circuits remaining,   the duo encountered lapped traffic and McCalla used a slower car as a pick trapping Weber behind the slower traffic. That was all McCalla needed to gain the lead and the win, which is his fourth of the season.  Weber , who won last week, finished second with Mel Schappert, Andy Edwards, and Kevin Lee close behind.


Two divisions of Go-Karts were also on hand Friday night with Tanner Allen once again claiming the top spot in the Junior Division while Bill Rieken was the top finisher in the senior Division.


Racing returns Friday night with the Keith Fleck Miller 100 featuring the ASA Midwest Tour and as many as 30 Super Late Models, including most of the regular Hawkeye Downs competitors, in action. The Sunline Hornets and Coors light Modifieds are scheduled to compete as well.





HEAT- 1. Scott Kozitsky; 2. Jamie Huff, Center Point, IA; 3. Mike Dains, Mechanicsville, IA; 4. Scott Grady, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Ryan Luedtke, Norway, IA; 6. Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Aric Becker, Cedar Rapids, IA; 8. Jason Doyle, Cedar Rapids, IA; 9. Mike Michell, Cedar Rapids, IA; 10. Arnie Reif, Hiawatha, IA

FEATURE – 1. Luedtke 2. Kositsky 3. Huff 4. Grady  5. Dains  6. Becker  7. Reif  8. Doyle  9. Hanson  10. Mitchell



HEAT 1- 1. Jonny Williams, Atkins, IA; 2. Brad Chandler, Vinton, IA; 3. Blake Carson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Derek Parrott, Marion, IA; 5. Nate Chandler, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Jose DeJesus, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Dallas Chandler, Cedar Rapids, IA; 8. Steve Dighton, Cedar Rapids, IA

HEAT2- 1. Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Shane Hanson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Greg Wilhelmi: 4. Jasen Freeman, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Bryce Bailey, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Brogan Fiala, Fairfax, IA; 7. Jerry O’Brien DNS- Brad Burhite, Cedar Rapids, IA; DNS- Connie Binder, Clutier

FEATURE- 1. Jim Hanson; 2. Shane Hanson; 3. Carson; 4. Nate Chandler; 5. Parrott; 7. Williams; 8. Freeman; 9. Dallas Chandler,; 10. Burhite; 11. Fiala; 12. DeJesus; 13. Dighton; 14. O’Brien; 15. Brad Chandler; 16. Bailey



HEAT- 1. Tim Dains, Marion, IA; 2. Roland Bohnsack, Clutier, IA; 3. Kandi Floyd, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Gary Pfantz, State Center, IA; 5. Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Dennis Klinsky, Ely, IA; 7. Ed O’Brien, Cedar Rapids, IA; 8. Jodi Cranston, Cedar Rapids, IA; 9. Duayne Herb, Marion, IA; 10. Jeff Franks, Cedar Rapids, IA; 11. Deb Mefford, Marion, IA

FEATURE- 1. Pfantz; 2. Bohnsack; 3. Siems; 4. Klinsky; 5. O’Brien; 6. Herb; 7. Cranston; 8. Franks ; 9. (DNF) Dains; 10 (DNF) Floyd; DNS-Mefford



HEAT 1. Brian Franks, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Brian Beatty, Palo, IA; 3. Mark Bolton, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Rodney Grother, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Randy Filling, Toddville, IA; 6. Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha, IA; 7. Kurt Bohsnack, Iowa City, IA; 8. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 9. Dennis Hundley, Center Point, IA; 10. Dave Ballastaedt, Cedar Rapids, IA; 11. Chad Siems, Shellsburg, IA

FEATURE- 1. Bohnsack; 2. Ahrendsen; 3. Filling; 4. Hundley; 5. Bolton; 6. Beatty; 7. Ballstaedt; 8. Franks; 9. Hentrich; 10. Siems; 11. Grother



HEAT- 1. Larry Clausen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Cory Houdek, Marion, IA; 3. Tony Olson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Scott Strauss, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Tim Plummer, Norway

FEATURE- 1. Plummer; 2. Clausen; 3. Olson; 4. Houdek; 5. Strauss



HEAT- 1. Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Michael Weber, Ryan, IA; 3. Mel Schappert, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Doug Simon, Marion, IA; 5. Kevin Lee, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Andy Edwards, New Hartford; 7. Brad Daugherty; 8.Travis Thompson, Atkins, IA; 9. Kevin Franks, Cedar Rapids, IA; 10. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 11. Scotty Welsh, Marion, IA

FEATURE- 1. McCalla; 2. Weber; 3. Schappert; 4. Edwards ; 5. Lee; 6. Simon 7. Daugherty; 8. Franks; 9. Thompson ; 10. Welsh; DNS- Ahrendsen