(Cedar Rapids, May 31 2013)—After three weeks of frustration, Cedar Rapids’ Bryce Bailey won his first Dublin City Pub INEX Legends feature of the 2013 season during Cassill Motors Night at Hawkeye Downs Speedway.

Bailey bolted to a sizable lead at the drop of the green flag and continued to stretch the lead until the halfway mark of the scheduled thirty-lap feature when a spin by Logan Mitchell brought out caution and erased his lead. On the restart Bailey went back to work once again building a lead while Matt Blake, Tim Goettsch, Allen Diercks, and Kevin Korsmo swapped positions back and forth for positions two through five.

Tim Goettsch wrestled second away from Matt Blake on lap twenty-two and held that spot to the checkered flag. Blake settled for third while Allen Diercks and Kevin Korsmo filled out the top of the order.

In other HyVee/I-Wireless Championship Series action, Kurt Bohnsack kept his win streak going, picking up his third Sunline Hornets victory of the season. Todd Ness commanded the first six laps before Bohnsack moved up to challenge. The pair ran side-by-side for the better part of two laps before Bohnsack took the point on lap ten and went unchallenged the rest of the way. Ness held on to second while Jose DeJesus brought home third after a rough outing last week that saw him barrel roll off the track in turn three.   Jeff Dvorak and Hallie Hanson also posted top-five finishes.

In Sunline Hornets, the field ran three-wide into turn one on the opening lap before falling into line. Matt Lacoursiere led the opening trip around the quarter-mile before Matt Petrzelka powered by and cruised to another easy win.  Lacoursiere maintained second and held off Brandon Herb in the final laps. Jason Sherman finished fourth and Malena Betzer was fifth. Petrzelka has won every Hobby Stock feature so far this season.

The Mountain Dew Sportsmen feature saw three different leaders with Dave McCalla notching the win. Ben Glascock, led the opening circuit and then surrendered the lead to Cory Houdek on lap two. Houdek had just started to stretch the lead a bit when Brian Franks spun bunching the field. On the restart, Dave McCalla went to work on Houdek, taking the lead on lap eight.  Glascock passed Houdek to claim second and while he did put a dent in the lead of McCalla in the waning laps of the feature he wasn’t able to rally a challend.

Glascock settled for second with Houdek, Hentrich, and Franks running behind.

The Miller Time Modified feature saw another familiar face in victory lane as Tim Plummer collected his third win of the season. Ryan Luedtke led the first circuit around the half-mile but the field was reset when Ed O’Brien brought out a caution on the next lap. When green flag racing resumed, Luedtke led through lap four but Plummer pulled alongside and took the point one lap later.  A great battle for second developed on lap twelve as Brian Gibson and Ryan Luedtke scrapped for the spot. Gibson took control of second on lap fourteen and tried to run down Plummer but the laps ticked off before he could make a serious bid for the lead. Gibson  settled for second with Luedtke, James Dixon, and Ed O’Brien behind.

Griffin McGrath earned his third trip to victory lane in the Capetland USA Late Model feature but it was by no means an easy win.  After Brian Allen led lap one, Jay Jaspers led the second lap and held the spot until Tim Plummer slipped by on lap seven. Plummer  pulled away from the pack a bit  while McGrath was working toward the second spot. McGrath secured second on lap nine while Thor Anderson worked into third.

Racing action continued as McGrath slowly pulled up to the rear bumper of Plummer by lap eighteen. Just a McGrath appeared ready to mount a challenge, Plummer pulled away a bit. By Lap twenty-two McGrath had moved to challenge again and on the following lap hbe was finally able to make the pass to secure his third win of 2013.  Plummer finished second with Anderson, Jaspers, and Osborn completing the top of the order.

Racing returns Friday night, June 7 for “100.7 The Fox” Free Night at the races. Free tickets are available at DuPaCo Credit Union locations.




May 31, 2013


HEAT 1- 1. (51) Bryce Bailey, Cedar Rapids; 2.(01) Tim Goettsch, Bettendorf; 3.(74R)Matt Blake, Cedar Rapids; 4.(02Jason Beauregard, Cedar Rapids; 5.(66)Dennis Diercks, Davenport; 6.(43)Gary Dyer, Davenport; DNS-(95)Allen Diercks, Bettendorf

HEAT 2-1.(99m)Logan Mitchell, Palmyra, MO; 2.(86)Kevin Korsmo, Atkins; 3.(37)Danny Lehmkuhl, Cedar Rapids; 4.(10)Mark Ironside, Swisher; 5.(29k)Austin Kunert, Batavia, IL; 6.(77)Warren Ropp, Kalona; 7.(25)Col O’Brien, Cedar Rapids

FEATURE (30laps) 1.Bailey 2.Goettsch 3.Blake 4.Allen Diercks 5.Korsmo 6.Kunert 7.Beauregard 8.Dennis Diercks 9.Lehmkuhl 10.Mitchell 11. Ironside 12.Dyer 13. Ropp 14. O’Brien



HEAT- 1 (5) Todd Ness, Cedar Rapids; 2.(4)Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City; 3.(8R) Jeff Dvorak, Cedar Rapids; 4.(24) Jose DeJesus, Cedar Rapids; 5. (9D) Dan Schmidt, Cedar Rapids; 6.(7B)Brad Schmidt, Cedar Rapids; 7. (00) Hallie Hanson, Cedar Rapids; 8.(44)Troy Scott, Cedar Rapids; DNS- (14)Zach Hartman, Cedar Rapids

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. Bohnsack 2.Ness 3.DeJesus 4.Dvorak 5.Hanson 6.Brad Schmidt 7.Scott 8.Dan Schmidt DNS-Hartman


HEAT- 1. (2)Matt Lacoursiere, Cedar Rapids; 2.(12) Brandon Herb, Marion; 3. (22)Matt Petrzelka, Norway; 4. (54)Jason Sherman, Marengo; 5. (2X)            Bob McCorkle, Marion; 6. (57) Malena Betzer, Marion

FEATURE (10 laps) 1. Petrzelka 2.Lacoursiere 3.Herb 4.Sherman 5.Betzer 6.McCorkle


HEAT- 1. (83) Ben Glascock, Indianola; 2.(3) Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids; 3.(19)Cory Houdek, Marion; 4.(88) Brian Franks, Cedar Rapids; 5.(35)Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha; 6.(9) Dave Ballsatedt, Marion

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. McCalla 2.Glascock 3.Houdek 4.Hentrich 5.Franks 6.Ballstaedt


HEAT- 1. (8) Ryan Luedtke, Norway; 2.(66)Tim Plummer, Norway; 3.(17)Brian Gibson, Walford; 4. (26) James Dixon, Cedar Rapids; 5. (5) Ed O’Brien, Cedar Rapids

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. Plummer 2.Gibson 3.Luedtke 4. Dixon 5. O’Brien


HEAT- 1. (72)Brad Osborn, Janesville; 2. (4)Thor Anderson, Bonuraunt; 3.(64) Griffin McGrath, Cedar Rapids; 4.(95) Jay Jaspers, Steamboat Rock; 5. (74) Tim Plummer, Norway; 6.(52) Brian Allen, Hiawatha; 7. (76) Chad Siems, Shellsburg DNS- (43) Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids

FEATURE(30 laps) 1. McGrath 2.Plummer 3.Anderson 4.Jaspers 5.Osborn 6.Scott Siems 7. Allen 8. Chad Siems