(Cedar Rapids,  IA  05/30/08)—The sights and sounds of racing returned to Hawkeye  Downs Speedway in a big way on Friday night after rain washed out the previous week’s program.  One of the largest crowds in recent memory crammed into the grandstands for Van Meter Industrial night. It was also a make-up event for the Dupaco 100.7 “The Fox” Race night presented by Miller High Life.


                Brad Chandler of Vinton scored his second feature win of the season in the Sunline Hornets after starting eighth on the grid. There were a couple different leaders during the first couple laps of the race but by the fifth circuit Chandler, who also leads the division,  had snared the lead for good. Jim Hanson, who started alongside Chandler finished second while Shane Hanson finished third.


                The IMCA SportMod division continues to grow with ten entries signed in Friday night. Jason Doyle picked up his first  ever asphalt feature win Friday night edging out point leader Arnie Reif. Scott Grady finished third, Mike Dains was fourth and Jamie Huff crossed the stripe in fifth.


                Gary Pfantz continues to roll in the Barron Motor Supply IMCA Hobby Stocks as he nabbed his third feature win of the season. Pfantz started well back in the field  and used the high groove to outduel Chad Siems to take command on lap 13. Roland Bohnsack, winner of the last feature finished in third with Jeff Franks and Duayne Herb filling out the top of the order.


                There was also a repeat winner in the Barron Motor Supply IMCA Stock Cars as Kurt Bohnsack chalked up his third trip to victory lane. Bohnsack started shotgun on the field,  and disposed of the field over the first seven circuits before taking the reins from Rodney Grother. Bob Ahrendsen, who’s chasing Bohnsack in the point battle finished third.


                Michael Weber broke Dave McCalla’s winning streak in the Budweiser Sportsmen feature. McCalla had won the first three features of the season but a spin at the halfway mark of the race sent him to the rear. Weber earned the win after starting inside row three and then he took the point from Bob Ahrendsen on lap fourteen and beat  the second place car of Kevin Lee across the line by just over a half-second. Ahrendsen finished third.


                In Coors Light Modifieds, defending champion Tim Plummer defeated another multi-time track champion, Mike Schulte to take his second win of the season. Schulte, who is Plummer’s uncle, plans to run “ a few times” this season and his return was warmly received by the fans.  Tony Olson posted a strong finish crossing the stripe in third with Scott Strauss and Cory Houdek completing the top five.


                There were some scary moments in the Modified feature however as Arlo Becker and point leader Chad Willett got together on the backstretch while battling for the lead and ended up in the wall in turn three. Becker’s car caught fire after the impact,  bringing out a red flag. Both drivers were reportedly alright but both cars were badly damaged with Beckers possibly damaged beyond repair according to crew members.


                Steve Carlson of West Salem, WI took home the winners hardware in Miller Lite Late Models for the second time in three starts this season. Carlson started outside row three and used only eight laps to take command of the race after Brad Osborn led in the early going. The race saw numerous cautions, mostly for solo spins but on each restart Carlson was able to leave the field behind.  Dudley Fleck finished second with Johnny Spaw, Curt Van Der Wal, and Brad Dvorak all running in the top five.









HEAT 1- 1. Brad Chandler, Vinton, IA; 2. Jasen Freeman, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Derek Parrott, Marion, IA; 4. Brad Burhite, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Nate Chandler, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Brogan Fiala,  Fairfax, IA; 7. Jonny Williams, Atkins, IA

HEAT 2- 1. Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Shane Hanson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Merv Chandler, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Blake Carson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Jose DeJesus, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. James Jensen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Greg Wilhelmi, Cedar Rapids, IA; 8. Steve Dighton

FEATURE- 1. Brad Chandler; 2. Jim Hanson; 3. Shane Hanson; 4. Nate Chandler; 5. Merv Chandler; 6. Freeman; 7. Burhite; 8. DeJesus; 9. Jensen; 10. Wilhelmi; 11. Carson; 12. Fiala; 13. Williams; 14. Dighton; 15. Parrott



HEAT- 1. Jim Hansen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Scott Kositsky; 3. Ryan Luedtke, Norway, IA; 4. Jason Doyle, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Mike Dains, Mechanicsville, IA; 6. Arnie Reif, Hiawatha, IA; 7. Jamie Huff, Center Point, IA; 8. Mike Mitchell, Cedar Rapids, IA; 9. Scott Grady, Cedar Rapids, IA; 10. Aric Becker, Cedar Rapids, IA

FEATURE- 1. Doyle; 2. Reif; 3. Grady; 4. Dains; 5. Huff; 6. Becker; 7. Luedtke; 8. Kositsky; 9. Hanson; 10. Mitchell



HEAT 1- 1. Jeff Franks, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Kandi Floyd, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Roland Bohnsack, Clutier, IA; 4. Duayne Herb, Marion, IA; 5. Deb Mefford, Marion, IA; 6. Malena Betzer, Cedar Rapids, IA

HEAT 2- 1. Gary Pfantz, State Center, IA; 2. Shawn Myers, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Ed O’Brien, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Dennis Klinsky, Ely, IA; 6. Jodi Cranston, Cedar Rapids, IA

FEATURE- 1. Pfantz; 2. Siems; 3. Bohnsack; 4. Franks; 5. Herb; 6. O’Brien; 7. Myers; 8. Mefford; 9. Floyd; 10. Klinsky; 11. Cranston; 12. Betzer



HEAT- 1. Rodney Grother, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Dave Ballstaedt, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Mark Bolton, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Chad Siems, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Brian Beaty, Palo, IA; 6. Randy Filling, Toddville; 7. Brian Franks, Cedar Rapids, IA; 8. Dennis Hundley, Center Point, IA; 9. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 10. Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha, IA; 11. Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City, IA

FEATURE- 1. Bohnsack; 2. Grother; 3. Ahrendsen; 4. Filling; 5. Ballstaedt; 6. Hentrich; 7. Siems; 8. Beatty; 9. Bolton; 10. Franks; 11. Hundley (DNS)



HEAT- 1. Andy Edwards, New Hartford, IA; 2. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Michael Weber, Ryan, IA; 4. Mel Schappert, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Kevin Lee, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Andy Duggan, Marion, IA; 7. Doug Simon, Marion, IA; 8. Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids, IA; 9. Travis Thompson, Atkins, IA; 10. Kevin Franks, Cedar Rapids, IA; 11. Scotty Welsh, Marion, IA

FEATURE- 1. Weber; 2. Lee; 3. Ahrendsen; 4. Schappert; 5. Edwards; 6. Duggan; 7. Simon; 8. McCalla; 9. Thompson; 10. Franks; 11. Welsh



HEAT- 1. Darrell Long, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Arlo Becker, Norway, IA; 3. Chad Willett, Alburnett, IA; 4. Tim Plummer, Norway, IA; 5. Scott Strauss, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Cory Houdek, Marion, IA; 7. Mike Schulte, Norway, IA; 8. Larry Clausen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 9. Tony Olson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 10. Andy Huston; 11. Steve Lindell, Marion, IA

FEATURE- 1. Plummer; 2. Schulte; 3. Olson; 4. Strauss; 5. Houdek; 6. Huston; 7. Lindell; 8. Becker; 9. Willett; 10. Long; 11. Clausen



HEAT- 1. Brad Osborn, Janesville, IA; 2. Curt Van Der Wal, Oskaloosa; 3. Steve Carlson, West Salem, WI; 4. Johnny Spaw, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Brad Dvorak, Lisbon, IA; 6. Dudley Fleck, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Jon Leonard, Vinton, IA; 8. Ken Reiser, Waukon, IA; 9. Joey Gase, Cedar Rapids, IA; 10. Jill George, Cedar Falls, IA; 11. Ron Boelts, Wellsburg; 12. Nick Greif, Monticello, IA

FEATURE 1. Carlson; 2. Fleck; 3. Spaw; 4. Van Der Wal; 5. Dvorak; 6. Gase; 7. Leonard; 8. Osborn; 9. Reiser; 10. George; 11. Greif; 12. Boelts