By Brad Grupe


(Cedar Rapids, IA  05/30/03)- The racers of the “ASA Papa Johns Cup Iowa Wireless Stock Car Championship” returned to the track at Hawkeye Downs Speedway on Friday night after two weeks off. Altorfer Catapillar was the presenting sponsor for the six- division program which included the INEX Duffy’s Collectible Cars Legends and Special K Motorsports IMCA Stock Cars.


            Landon Cassill has flirted with Coca-Cola Victory Lane on a couple of occasions in the past but Friday night he visited for real after winning the 25-lap Legends Feature. Cassill started ninth in the event and survived an early spin before working though the pack and taking the win. Tom Frady crossed the stripe in second with Ross Zumbach nailing down third.


            Doug Simon made it two-for two in the IMCA Stock Cars, wining his second feature in as many starts in the division. Simon started in the third row and wasted little time in getting to the front. His closest pursuer was Jamie Whitaker who started the race on the pole but couldn’t keep the handle on the car well enough to stay within reach of Simon. Larry Silbaugh finished in third.


            Kurt Bohnsack became the first repeat winner of the young season in the Barron Motor Supply Super Stocks posting the win over Jim Hanson and Chad Siems. The 30-lap feature ran green to checkers. Hanson chased Bohnsack for the entire race with that duo well ahead of the rest of the pack as the laps ticked off.


            Jim Ross held on to win the 30 lap Performance Concepts Late Model feature edging out Johnny Spaw and Justin Diercks. Ross captured the lead from Scott Delsing near the mid-point of the race and started to build a bit of a cushion until about 8 laps to go when Spaw started making a dent in the margin.  With 5 to go Spaw was within striking distance of Ross and with just a couple laps remaining he was in the midst of a challenge when he nearly spun after a suspension component broke. Spaw was able to maintain second with Justin Diercks a strong third.  The win was the first of the season for Ross, who was running third in points coming into the night.


            Kevin Korsmo led all thirty laps in the Budweiser Late Model Sportsmen division in earning his first win of the season. A technical infraction negated an apparent win earlier in the season. Korsmo started on the point and then held off defending champion Curt Van Der Wal over the last half of the race. A late caution also set up a two lap shootout but Korsmo was able to hold off Van Der Wal, who finished second. Johns Henecke finished in third.


            Earlier in the evening, the sportsman cars of Robb Keeney and Ron Fisher were involved in a horrific crash in turn four, which sent both cars onto their roofs and they slid down the front stretch. The drivers emerged from their destroyed cars and were checked by medical personnel.


            Brian Allen was the other feature winner on the night, picking up his first feature win of the season in the Miller Time Modifieds. Allen earned the victory lane from row two and Alliant Energy Timing and Scoring showed Jim Williams and Larry Clausen crossing the stripe in second and third.


            Racing returns Friday night, June 6 with Duffy’s Collectible Cars Night. The regular divisions will be in action along with Legends and Nostalgia Stocks.



Mini-Results for May 30,2003



1. Jim Ross, Cedar Rapids

2. Johnny Spaw, Cedar Rapids

3. Justin Diercks, Davenport

4. Scott Delsing, Marion

5. JJ Meyer, Cedar Rapids

6. Brian Gibson, Walford

7. Billy Bennett, Cedar Rapids

8. Mike Ehde, Prarie Du Chien, WI

9. Jeff King, Cedar Rapids

10. Randy Coghlan, Toddville

11. Wade Prasil, Cedar Rapids

12. Art Christofferesen, Robins

13. Chris Sevey, Waterloo

14. Jay Herbst, West Salem, WI

15. Brad Osborn, Janesville

16. Denny Osborn, Janesville

17. Matt Lundberg, West Des Moines



1.  Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City

2. Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids

3. Chad Siems, Mt. Auburn

4. Scott Grady, Walker

5. Sonny Parker, Cedar Rapids

6. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids

7. Paul Walder, Cedar Rapids

8. Aric Becker, Cedar Rapids

9. Cory Houdek, Anamosa

10. David McCalla, Cedar Rapids

11. Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha

12. Arnie Reif, Hiawatha

13. Kevin Franks, Cedar Rapids

14. Jayson Scott, Cedar Rapids

15. Roland Bohnsack, Clutier

16. John Ness, Cedar Rapids

17. Don Johnson, Cedar Rapids

18. Wendy Carnahan, Cedar Rapids

19. Brenda Thomsen, Cedar Rapids

20. Brian Helle, Cedar Rapids

21. Roger Merta, Cedar Rapids



1. Brian Allen, Hiawatha

2. Jim Williams, Cedar Rapids

3. Larry Clausen, Cedar Rapids

4. Arlo Becker, Atkins

5. Bob Gase, Cedar Rapids

6. Max Corporon, Marion

7. Chad Willett, Cedar Rapids

8. Kyle Hinrichs, Swisher

9. Shawn Stinger, Palo

10. John Baker, Toddville

11. Rodney Rocarek, Mt, Vernon

12. Jerry Keeney, Cedar Rapids

DNS- Steve Lindell, Marion

DNS- Darrell Long, Cedar Rapids



1. Kevin Korsmo, Hiawatha

2. Curtis Van Der Wal, Oskaloosa

3. John Henecke, Hiawatha

4. Craig Bender, Cedar Rapids

5. Martin Ballard, Marengo

6. Johnny Mudd, Cedar Rapids

7. Brian Franks, Central City

8. Andy Duggan, Marion

9. Scott Wennermark, Cedar Rapids

10. Mel Schappert, Cedar Rapids

11. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids

12. Lyle Williams, Center Point

13. Gene Peterson, Des Moines

14. Jason Beauregard, Cedar Rapids

15. Tom Burke, Nevada

DNS- Ron Fisher, Shellsburg

DNS- Robb Keeney, Cedar Rapids



1. Landon Cassill, Fairfax

2. Tom Frady, Cedar Rapids

3. Ros Zumbach, Racine, MN

4. Mike Foreman, Cedar Rapids

5. Lane Swearinger, Davenport

6. Brett Thomas, Marion

7. Keith Meyer, Cedar Rapids

8. Nate Shelton

9. Mark Hauder, Dubuque

10. Eric Appleget, Ely



1. Doug Simon

2. Jamie Whitaker

3. larry Silbaugh

4. Chad Siems

5. Tony Schimmels

6. Tim Steffen

7. Ronnie Godwin

8. Cliff Gray

9. Norman Chesmore

10. Brad Holtkamp

DNS- Richard Quail