By Brad Grupe


(Cedar Rapids, IA 052804)—After races were called off due to weather three of the first four weeks of the season, the sounds of race cars and cheering fans once again filled Hawkeye Downs on Friday night for ASA Papa Johns Cup Iowa Wireless Championship stock car racing.


            Brad Osborn won the first of two 20-lap Performance Concepts Late Model features holding off  Dudley Fleck  and Denny Osborn for the  checkered flag in a feature which was halted briefly for rain with just two laps to go.  Jeff King finished fourth while Kyle Hinrichs crossed the stripe in fifth.


            The second 20-lap late model feature went to Chris Sevey of Waterloo. The win was Sevey’s first in a late model although Sevey is no stranger to Coca-Cola Victory Lane. Sevey won an  impressive number of features in the Legends division at Hawkeye Downs.


            Sevey  edged out JJ Meyer for the win with Brad Osborn, winner of the first feature, finishing third. Jeff King was fourth with Dudley Fleck scoring fifth.


            Arlo Becker proved once again that he still has what it takes to find the checkered flag after starting in the third row of the Miller Time Modifieds feature. Becker emerged the leader from a battle with Tim Plummer and Bob Gase on lap thirteen and cruised to the win. Plummer finished second and Gase third.


            At one point in the off-season Bob Ahrendsen wasn’t even sure if he would run in the  Budweiser Late Model Sportsmen division during the 2004 season. Apparently he made the right choice as he picked up the feature win on Friday night. Ahrendsen fought with Kevin Korsmo for several laps with Korsmo, running a ‘Downs legal truck,  able to catch him in the turns but not able to keep up on the straights. Craig Bender finished a strong third followed to the line by Martin Ballard and Mel Schappert.


            Dave McCalla slipped around Paul Walder on the 13th lap and motored to the win in the Baron Motor Supply Super Stocks feature. McCalla started outside the second row and was up to second by lap nine before making the winning pass. Walder finished second with Bob Ahrendsen third, Kurt Bohnsack fourth, and Brad Dvorak fifth.


            The IMCA Hobby Stocks also were back in action Friday night with Jeff Selfridge using lapped traffic to his advantage in taking the victory. Terry Shaffar led the first half of the 20-lapper before Matt Poduska took the lead with six laps remaining. Selfridge copped the lead with just three laps to go and took the checkers ahead of Shaffar and Poduska. Roland Bohnsack was fourth with Ron Dighton fifth.


            Although their numbers are small, the Women on Wheels took to the track for the first time this season and Kandi Floyd emerged victorious in a see-saw battle that saw nearly everyone with the lead sometime during the event. Floyd edged Jessica Hoffman for the win with Connie Binder third.


            Racing returns Friday night with the USAC Sprint Cars and Ford Focus Midgets joined on the card by Hawkeye Downs Late Models, Sportsmen, and Modifieds.



Feature #1 (20 laps)

1. Brad Osborn, Janesville; 2. Dudley Fleck, Cedar Rapids; 3. Denny Osborn, Janesville; 4. Jeff King, Cedar Rapids; 5. JJ Meyer, Cedar Rapids; 6. Mike Ehde, Prarie Du Chien, WI; 7. Jay Herbst, West Salem, WI; 8. Chris Sevey, Waterloo; 9. Lyle Williams, Center Point; 10. Dean Slater, Schaumburg, IL; 11. Scott Delsing, Cedar Rapids; 12. Lyle Hinrichs, Swisher


Feature #2 (20 laps)

1) Chris Sevey 2) JJ Meyer 3) Brad Osborn 4) Jeff King 5) Dudley Fleck 6) Denny Osborn 7) Kyle Hinrichs 8) Mike Ehde 9) Jay Herbst 10) Scott Delsing 11) Dean Slater 12) Lyle Williams



1st Heat- Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City  2nd Heat-Paul Walder-Cedar Rapids

Feature (25 laps) 1) Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids; 2) Walder; 3) Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids; 4) Bohnsack; 5) Brad Dvorak, Cedar Rapids; 6) Scott Grady, Walker; 7) Cory Houdek, Cedar Rapids; 8) Doug Simon, Marion; 9) Randy Filling, Toddville; 10)Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids; 11) Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha; 12) Terry Clayton, Brooklyn; 13) Logan Hale, Cedar Rapids; 14) Wendy Carnahan, Cedar Rapids; 15) Kevin Franks, Cedar Rapids; 16)Norman Chesmore, Rowley; 17) Jason Block; 18) Brad Daugherty, Cedar Rapids



1st heat- Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids  2nd heat- Craig Bender, Cedar Rapids

Feature (20 laps) 1) Ahrendsen; 2) Kevin Korsmo, Cedar Rapids; 3) Bender; 4) Martin Ballard, Marengo; 5) Mel Schappert, Cedar Rapids; 6)Scott Wennermark, Cedar Rapids; 7) John Henecke, Cedar Rapids; 8) Andy Duggan, Marion; 9) Johnny Mudd, Cedar Rapids; 10) Rob Keeney, Cedar Rapids; 11) Gene Peterson, Des Moines; 12) Brian Franks, Central City



1st heat- Bob Gase, Cedar Rapids  2nd Heat-Chad Willet, Cedar Rapids

Feature (20 laps) 1)Arlo Becker, Atkins; 2) Tim Plummer, Norway; 3)Gase; 4) Willet; 5) Shawn Stinger, Palo; 6) Larry Clausen,Cedar Rapids; 7) Brian Allen, Hiawatha; 8) Rodney Rocarek, Cedar Rapids; 9) Aric Becker, Cedar Rapids; 10) Jody Lana, Cedar Rapids; 11) Darrell Long, Cedar Rapids



1st heat- Jeremy Meyer, Cedar Rapids; 2nd heat-Matt Poduska, Center Point; 3rd heat-Terry Shaffar, State Center

Feature (20 laps) 1) Jeff Slfridge, Marion; 2) Shaffar; 3) Poduska; 4) Roland Bohnsack.Clutier; 5) Ron Dighton, Cedar Rapids; 6) Brandon Herb, Marion; 7) Chad Vozenilek, Fairfax; 8) Bryce Mitchell, Cedar Rapids; 9) Dave Gleason, Atkins; 10) Perry Thomsen, Cedar Rapids; 11) Steve Snyder, Cedar Rapids; 12) Deb Mefford, Marion; 13) Matt LaCoursiere, Cedar Rapids; 14) Eric Hood, Marion; 15) Mike Desotel, Cedar Rapids; 16) Tim Kemmerer, Fairfax; 17) Mark Hauder, Dubuque; 18) Meyer; 19) Scott Siems, Mt. Auburn; 20) Bill Koepke, Cedar Rapids



Heat- Jessica Hoffman, Atkins

Feature (10 laps) 1) Kandi Floyd, Cedar Rapids; 2) Hoffman; 3) Connie Binder, Clutier; 4) Pam Kemmerer, Fairfax