(Cedar Rapids, IA  05/25/07)—Rodney Grother is no stranger to Coca-Cola Victory Lane at Hawkeye Downs Speedway and Friday night he found himself there again after just edging Tim Dains for the win in the 20-lap Barron Motor Supply IMCA Hobby Stock Feature. Grother started in the third row and waited his turn to take the lead as other cars jockeyed for position in the first few laps.


                Grother worked into the lead on lap 12 and crossed the finish line just a half car length ahead of Tim Dains. The win was the second of the season for Grother.  Tim Dains finished second and was chased to the stripe by Gary Pfantz, Ron Dighton, and last weeks winner, Deb Mefford.


                Chad Willett on the other hand, hasn’t tasted victory at ASA-sanctioned Hawkeye Downs Speedway in awhile but Friday night he outraced the field in the Miller Time Modifieds and collected the win.  Willett slid by Craig Bender on lap four and motored away from the pack.  Reigning division champ Tim Plummer started cutting into the lead by the time a couple more laps ticked off and was narrowing Willett’s lead when a tire problem forced him off the pace.


                Arlo Becker rallied from an early caution and finished second although by the time he got the position Willett was some 6 seconds ahead of Becker, who won last weeks feature.  Shawn Stinger posted an impressive third place finish in the race which featured three-wide racing at times.


                Kurt Bohnsack took top honors in the Barron Motor Supply IMCA Stock Car Feature after starting on the pole. The race for second was one of the best position battles of the night as last weeks’ feature winner Logan Hale and Randy Filling battles lap after lap for the second spot.  Hale prevailed in the end with Filling settling for third. Bob Ahrendsen was fourth and Dennis Hundley crossed the Lint Millwright Finish Line in fifth.


                The Budweiser Sportsmen division was a little light on cars Friday night but a win is a win and Dave McCalla collected the checkers Friday night, beating Andy Duggan to the line by a scant .473 seconds. McCalla started in row two  and took command of the race about a third of the through the scheduled 25 lapper. Duggan was steadily cutting the distance as the laps ticked off but came up a couple laps short of challenging for the lead.  Mel Schappert finished third, Bob Ahrendsen fourth, and Michael Weber fifth.


                Ryan Luedtke definitely had his IMCA Sportmod hooked up Friday night as he finished the 15 laps feature for that division well ahead of his closest challenger, Tony Olson. Arnie Reif finished third.


                Brian Beaty added another Feature Win Sticker to his collection picking up the win in the Sunline Hornets feature event.  Beaty wasted little time snaring the lead and kept a fair distance between himself and his closest threat, Doug Simon. Brad Chandler wound up third while Shawn Myers was fourth and Scotty Welch was fifth.


                An exhibition event was held for the Go-Karts again on Friday night with Corey Kemp, nephew of former Hawkeye Downs Promoter Larry Kemp, taking the top spot. Kemp races in the Senior Champ division. William Reiken, also from the Senior division finished second and Tanner Allen who races in the Junior Champ division finished third.


                One of the biggest racing events of the season takes place next Friday night with the running of the 35th annual Keith Fleck Miller 100.  The night’s program features the ASA Midwest Tour, USAC Ford Focus Midgets, and Miller Tim Modifeds.








FEATURE (12 laps)—1. Corey Kemp; 2. William Reiken; 3. Tanner Allen; 4. Klein Walker; 5. Paul Flanegan



FEATURE ( 15 laps)—1. Brian Beaty, Palo, IA; 2. Doug Simon, Cedar Rapids; 3. Brad Chandler, Vinton; 4. Shawn Myers, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Scotty Welch, Cedar Rapids; 6. Brian Bries, Norway; 7. Jon Livingston



FEATURE (15 laps) – 1. Ryan Luedtke, Norway; 2. Tony Olson, Cedar Rapids; 3. Arnie Reif, Hiawatha; 4. Brian Kauffman, Cedar Rapids



FEATURE ( 20 laps) – 1. Rodney Grother, Cedar Rapids; 2. Tim Dains, Marion; 3. Gary Pfantz, State Center; 4. Ron Dighton, Cedar Rapids; 5. Deb Mefford, Marion; 6. Dennis Klinsky, Ely; 7. Duayne Herb, Cedar Rapids; 8. Roland Bohnsack, Clutier; 9. Steve Wilhelm, Cedar Rapids; 10. Bill McVey, Cedar Rapids; 11. Scott Benesh, Newhall; 13. Kandi Floyd, Cedar Rapids; 14. Malena Betzer, Cedar Rapids  DNS- Kris Jones, Cedar Rapids



FEATURE (20 laps) – 1. Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City; 2. Logan Hale, Cedar Rapids; 3. Randy Filling, Toddville; 4. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids; 5. Dennis Hundley, Center Point; 6. Doug Otto, Cedar Falls; 7. Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha; 8. Mark Bolton, Cedar Rapids; 9. Chad Siems, Marion



FEATURE (25 laps) – 1. Chad Willet, Alburnett; 2. Arlo Becker, Norway; 3. Shawn Stinger, Palo; 4. Craig Bender, Cedar Rapids; 5. Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids; 6. Joey Gase, Cedar Rapids; 7. Rodney Rocarek, Mt. Vernon; 8. Tim Plummer, Norway; 9. Cory Houdek, Marion; 10. Steve Lindell, Marion; 11. Darrell Long, Cedar Rapids  DNS-Scott Strauss, Cedar Rapids



FEATURE (25 laps) – 1. Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids; 2. Andy Duggan, Marion; 3. Mel Schappert, Cedar Rapids; 4. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids; 5. Michael Weber, Ryan; 6. Jon Leonard, Vinton