(Cedar Rapids, IA 05/23/2014)—Race Fans finally caught a break with the weather and were treated to some great racing on a pleasant evening  at Hawkeye Downs Speedway.

Week four of the Hy-Vee Racing Series saw some familiar names in victory lane and a few new faces on the track.

In Sunline Hornets, Kurt Bohnsack blasted into the lead using an outside move on the first lap and then held off a late-race charge by Brad Chandler to rack up his fourth win of the season. Dallas Chandler finished in third behind his brother Brad.

Matt Lacoursiere picked up his second win of the season in a very entertaining Barron Motor Supply Hobby Stock Feature. Jason Sherman held off Kandi Floyd and then Nathan Ballard thought the early laps before the caution flag waved with six laps in the books.

On the restart,  Sherman continued to hold off Kandi Floyd but Matt Lacoursiere made his move on the outside as those two battled and he slid into the lead with 5 laps to go. Sherman fought back and tried to pull alongside with three laps remaining but Lacoursiere held him off . That battle allowed Jim Hanson into the mix and he passed Sherman on the white flag lap to take second. Sherman finished in third.

Jake Griffin picked up his first win of the season in Miller Time Modifieds easily outdistancing Brian Gibson and Ryan Luedtke.  Caution waved on lap four when Gibson and Luedtke made contact but both were able to continue. Gibson finshed in second with Luedtke third.

The Mountain Dew Sportsmen feature saw close-quarters racing throughout the fifteen-lap distance with Greg Hentrich coming up just a bit short in his quest for the checkered flag. Hentrich led all but a couple laps as he surrendered the lead to Dave Ballstaedt on lap two but then regained the lead on the next lap.

Jim Hanson moved to second on lap three and then chased Hentrich, trying high and low moves to gain the lead. The white flag lap saw Hentrich, Hanson and Cory Houdek running three wide before Houdek slipped a bit and almost spun out.  Hanson finally squeezed around Hentrich on the backstretch during the final lap earning a narrow victory over Hentrich.  Ballstaedt finished third.

Griffin McGrath put his #64 Carpetland USA Late Model in victory lane for the first time this season,  easily outrunning Tim Plummer and Brad Osborn for the win. Despite originally being gridded farther back, a couple other competitors opted to to start in the rear which put McGrath outside row one for the green flag.  McGrath blasted into the lead and wasn’t challenged the rest of the way. Plummer, who has two wins this season , finished second while Brad Osborn was third.

Finally, a sixteen car Dublin City Pub Legends feature saw some great racing to cap off the evening as Bryce Bailey held off Tim Goettsch in the 25-lap race. Mark Greb led the first four trips around the quarter-mile before Bryce Bailey took command. While Bailey stayed just ahead of the pack for the balance of the race, there was some great action through the pack including a couple spins bunched the field back up.

The final caution came with five laps to go, setting up a dash to the finish. With two laps to go Goettsch pulled to the outside of Bailey but Goettsch couldn’t complete the pass on the final lap giving Bailey his second win of the year. Austin Kunert finished a strong third after starting outside row three.

Racing resumes Friday night, May 30 for week five of the Hy-Vee Racing Series.  The night is also a regional qualifier for the Dublin City Pub INEX Legends.




May 23, 2014


HEAT 1- 1. (01) Tim Goettsch, Bettendorf; 2.(86)Kevin Korsmo, Atkins; 3.(21) Mark Greb,Coralville; 4.(66) Dennis Diercks, Eldridge; 5. (88) Matt Blake, Cedar Rapids; 6. (37) Danny Lehmkuhl, Cedar Rapids; 7.(33) CJ Van Horn, Marion DNS-Al Diercks, Davenport

HEAT 2.- 1. (51) Bryce Bailey, Cedar Rapids; 2.(10)Mark Ironside, Swisher; 3.(00)Brody Willett, Alburnett; 4. (29)Austin Kunert, Batavia, IL; 5. (4)Brady Fox Rhode, Loretto, MN; 6.(25) Cole O’Brien, Cedar Rapids; (43) Gary Dyer, Bluegrass; DNS- TJ Aimers, Cedar Rapids

(FEATURE (25 laps) 1. Bailey 2.Goettsch 3.Kunert 4.Korsmo 5.Fox Rhode 6.Greb 7.Ironside 8.Dennis Diercks 9.Willett 10. Al Diercks 11.O’Brien 12.Dyer 13. Lehmkuhl 14. Van Horn 15. Aimers 16. Blake


HEAT- 1. (2m) Brad Chandler,Vinton; 2.(4) Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City; 3.(7b) Brad Schmidt, Cedar Rapids; 4.(54) Dallas Chandler, Vinton; 5. (59) Steve Woodrow, Marion; 6.(44) Troy Scott, Cedar Rapids; 7.(1a) Trent Jochimsen;DNS- Zach Hartman, Cedar Rapids

FEATURE (15 laps) 1. Bohnsack 2. Brad Chandler 3.Dallas Chandler 4.Schmidt 5.Woodrow 6.Scott 7.Jochimsen DNS-Hartman


HEAT 1- 1. (29) Nathan Ballard, Marengo; 2.(14j) Jacob Floyd, Cedar Rapids; 3. (48)Adam Petrzelka, Norway; 4.(54) Jason Sherman, Marengo; 5.(00n) Drew Nickell, Cedar Rapids

HEAT 2- 1. (12k) Kandi Floyd, Cedar Rapids; 2.(22) Matt Petrzelka, Norway; 3.(77) Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids; 4. (2) Matt Lacoursiere, Cedar Rapids; 5. (57) Malena Clement, Cedar Rapids

FEATURE (15 laps) 1. Lacoursiere 2. Hanson 3.Sherman 4.Kandi Floyd 5.Ballard 6.Matt Petrzelka 7.Jacob Floyd 8.Adam Petrzelka 9.Nickell 10.Clement


HEAT- 1. (35) Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha; 2. (19) Cory Houdek, Marion; 3.(9) Dave Ballstaedt, Marion; 4. (88) Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids; 5.(5) Tom Burke, Ames; DNS-Dan Schmidt, Cedar Rapids

FEATURE (15 laps) 1. Hanson 2. Hentrich 3.Ballstaedt 4.Burke 5. Houdek DNS- Schmidt


HEAT- 1. (66) Jake Griffin, Quincy, IL; 2. (8) Ryan Luedtke, Norway; 3. (17) Brian Gibson, Walford

FEATURE (10laps) 1. Griffin 2. Gibson 3. Luedtke


HEAT- 1. (64) Griffin McGrath, Cedar Rapids; 2.(74) Tim Plummer, Norway; 3.(72) Brad Osborn, Janesville; 4.(76) Chad Siems, Shellsburg; 5. (52) Brian Allen, Hiawatha; 6. (99) Logan Mitchell, Palmyra, MO; DNS-(43) Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids

FEATURE(25 laps) 1 . McGrath 2.Plummer 3.Osborn 4.Scott Siems 5.Mitchell 6.Allen 7.Chad Siems