(Cedar Rapids, IA  05/20/05)—Multi-time track champion Johnny Spaw of Cedar Rapids did something  Friday night he hadn’t done in more than a year- He won a feature in the Performance Concepts Late Models. Actually to be fair, Spaw raced elsewhere last season so he didn’t have the opportunity to win at Hawkeye Downs.


            Spaw started in the second row in the first of two 20-lap Late Model features and ducked under Lyle Williams on lap three to take command of the race. Spaw built a sizeable lead and finished over two seconds ahead of second place JJ Meyer according top data provided by Alliant Energy Transponder Timing and Scoring.


            Spaw came into the night already leading the point chase and padded his lead Friday night as he closest competitor, Dudley Fleck, was racing his Formula car elsewhere.


            The second Late Model feature saw a familiar face from last season in Coca-Cola Victory Lane. Brad Osborn of Janesville, defending champion in the division, motored to a win after taking the lead from Jeff King on the second trip around the “Downs half-mile. Osborn finished about a half-second ahead of King. JJ Meyer backed up his second place finish in the first feature with a strong third in this one. Scott Wennermark was fourth and Landon Cassill fifth.


            A couple more cars joined the Hornets field Friday night with newcomer Nathan Ballard of Marengo piloting his four- cylinder front wheel drive machine across the Lint Millwright Finish Line ahead of Rick Gallo of Center Point. Derrick Beadle from Hiawatha finished in third while Connie Binder of Clutier finished fourth. Marengo driver Jeff Ballard crossed the stripe in fifth.


            The Barron Motor Supply IMCA Hobby Stock Feature saw Rodney Grother take an early lead but Terry Shaffar of State Center found his way to the front with six laps to go.  Shaffar made a couple a couple challenges for the lead prior to that and got shuffled back on both occasions before finding the right line to take the lead. Brandon Herb of Marion finished second and Grother was third.  Tim Dains of CR finished third after starting in the fourth row. Fifth place went to Roland Bohnsack of Clutier in the familiar yellow #4.


            Shaffar has now won two straight after popping motors in his first two outings of the season.


            Former Super Stock Champion Brad Dvorak of CR collected win number two of the season in the Barron Motor Supply IMCA Stock Car feature on Friday night. Dvorak started eighth on the grid and then took the lead a couple laps after Yellowbook Yellow Flag forced a restart. While Dvorak had a firm handle on the lead some great battles for position behind him resulted in a second place finish for Doug Simon of Marion. Logan Hale of CR finished an impressive third while Cory Houdek of Marion was fourth. Cedar Rapids veteran driver Bob Ahrendsen finished in fifth.


            Sixty-seven year old Arlo Becker of Norway found victory lane for the second time this season, winning the 30-lap thriller in the Miller Time IMCA Asphalt Modified division.  Becker held off a persistent Tim Plummer of Norway, who was glued to the veterans bumper for much of the race. Becker prevailed by just over a tenth of a second as Plummer, the points leader coming into Friday night, tried to find a way around the veteran.  Brian Allen of Cedar Rapids finished third. Chad Willett of Alburnett posted a good showing, finishing fourth while Shawn Stinger brought home fifth.


            Two drivers near the top of the points chart, Brian Franks and Martin Ballard  both won features in the Budweiser Late Model Sportsmen division Friday night, which was Altorfer CAT night.  The first 20-lap feature saw Franks, of Central City, hold off points leader Kevin Korsmo of Atkins for the win. The win was the first of the season for Franks.  Finishing third was rookie Dave McCalla and he was followed to the stripe by Craig Bender and Landon Cassill.


            Martin Ballard of Marengo cruised to a relatively easy win in the second 20-lap feature with Korsmo again coming home second. The win was the second of the young season for Ballard.  Landon Cassill of Fairfax posted another top-five finishes after finishing third.  Craig Bender found himself in fourth once again with Dave McCalla finishing fifth giving those drivers top five finishes in both features.


            Racing returns Friday night May 27 with all the regular divisions in action except the Late Models. The Nostalgia Stocks will join the other divisions along with the running of the “KHAK Undie 500”








FEATURE ( 10 laps)

  1. Nathan Ballard, Marengo; 2. Rick Gallo, Center Point; 3. Derrick Beadle, Hiawatha; 4. Connie Binder, Clutier; 5. Jeff Ballard, Marengo; 6. Jose Dejesus, Cedar Rapids  DNS- Brian Bries, Norway



FEATURE (15 laps)

  1. Terry Shaffar, Center Point; 2. Brandon Herb, Marion; 3. Rodney Grother, Cedar Rapids; 4. Tim Dains, Cedar Rapids; 5. Roland Bohnsack, Clutier; 6. Ron Dighton, Cedar Rapids; 7. Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids; 8. Chad Vozenilek, Fairfax; 9. Kandi Floyd, Cedar Rapids; 10. Deb Mefford, Marion; 11. Perry Thomsen, Cedar Rapids; 12. Brandon Greene, Millersberg; 13. Roger Lacoursierre, Cedar Rapids; 14. Carl Ellis



FEATURE (25 laps)

  1. Brad Dvorak, Cedar Rapids; 2. Doug Simon, Marion; 3. Logan Hale, Cedar Rapids; 4. Cory Houdek, Marion; 5. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids; 6. Randy Filling, Toddville; 7. Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City; 8. John Ness, Cedar Rapids; 9. Wendy Carnahan, Cedar Rapids; 10. Mark Bolton, Cedar Rapids; 11. Chad Siems, Mt. Auburn; 12. Jeff Mueller, Mt. Pleasant; 13. Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha



FEATURE (30laps)

1. Arlo Becker, Norway; 2. Tim Plummer, Norway; 3. Brian Allen, Cedar Rapids; 4. Chad Willett, Alburnett; 5. Shawn Stringer, Palo; 6. Aric becker, Cedar Rapids; 7. Rodney Rocarek, Mt. Vernon; 8. larry Clausen, Cedar Rapids; 9. Bob Gase, Cedar Rapids; 10. Pat Flannagan, Cedar Rapids; 11. Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids; 12. Scott Grady, Cedar Rapids; 13. Griffin McGrath, Cedar Rapids; 14. Scott Strauss, Cedar Rapids; 15. Keith Siefken, Cedar Rapids; 16.  Darrell Long, Cedar Rapids; 17. Steve Lindell, Marion



FEATURE #1 (20laps)

  1. Brian Franks, Central City; 2. Kevin Korsmo, Atkins; 3. Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids; 4. Craig Bender, Cedar Rapids; 5. Landon Cassill, Fairfax; 6. Andy Duggan, Marion; 7. Martin Ballard, Marengo; 8. Kevin Franks, Cedar Rapids; 9. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids; 10. Mel Schappert, Cedar Rapids; DNS-Mark Hauder, Dubuque


FEATURE #2 (20laps)

  1. Martin Ballard, Marengo; 2. Kevin Korsmo, Atkins; 3. Landon Cassill, Fairfax; 4. Craig Bender, Cedar Rapids; 5. Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids; 6. Andy Duggan, Marion; 7. Brian Franks, Central City; 8. Mel Schappert, Cedar Rapids; 9. Kevin Franks, Cedar Rapids; 10. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids; 11. Mark Hauder, Dubuque




FEATURE #1 (20laps)

  1. Johnny Spaw, Cedar Rapids; 2. JJ Meyer, Cedar Rapids; 3. Landon Cassill, Fairfax; 4. Denny Osborn, Janesville; 5. Scott Wennermark, Ely; 6. Brad Osborn, Janesville; 7. Chris Sevey, Waterloo; 8. Lyle Williams, Center Point; 9. Kyle Hinrichs, Swisher; 10. Jeff King, Cedar Rapids; DNS- Brian Allen, Cedar Rapids


FEATURE #2 (20laps)

1. Brad Osborn, Janesville; 2. Jeff King, Cedar Rapids; 3. JJ Meyer, Cedar Rapids; 4. Scott Wennermark, Ely; 5. Landon Cassill, Fairfax; 6. Johnny Spaw, Cedar Rapids; 7. Kyle Hinrichs, Swisher; 8. Chris Sevey, Waterloo; 9. Denny Osborn, Janesville; 10. Lyle Williams, Center Point; DNS- Brian Allen, Cedar Rapids