By Brad Grupe


(Cedar Rapids, IA  051801)—Kasey Kahne of Enumclaw, WA topped a stellar field of USAC Midgets at Hawkeye Downs Speedway Friday night, winning the thirty-lap main event in front of a nearly packed house.  Kahne wrestled the lead from Bobby East with just nine laps remaining and survived a late race caution to score the win.


                Dave Darland finished a strong second with Tracy Hines posting a third place finish.  Hines shattered the track record for USAC Midgets earlier in the evening turning a lap of 17.780 seconds. Twenty-six of the twenty-nine cars that went through qualifying bettered the previous track record of 18.844, which was set in 1989 by Mike Streicher.


The race was red-flagged on lap 11 when Aaron Pollack and Steven Robertson tangled in turn one causing both cars to flip into the foam soft wall. Neither driver was injured in the mishap.


Three of the four ASA Member Track divisions were also in action Friday night, with the Aggregates Late Models taking the night off.


Steve Kibort picked up his first Budweiser Sportsmen feature win since graduating from the Super Stocks a couple of years ago. Kibort took the point on the second trip around the Hawkeye Downs half-mile and held off Craig Bender for the win. Bender posted a strong second place finish, returning from an accident that heavily damaged his car two weeks ago. Curt VanDerWal finished in third.


Mike Schulte found victory lane once again in the Miller Time Open Wheel Modifieds after taking the lead on the tenth lap. Larry Clausen ran a strong second after holding off the charges of Scott Wennermark, who finished a solid third. Schulte started the 25-lap feature twelfth on the grid and quickly moved to the front along with Wennermark and Clausen.


The Barron Motor Supply Super Stock field was split into two 25-lap features for Friday night’s event. Clint Houdek took the lead with thirteen laps to go in the first feature and held off John Baker and Aric Becker for the win.


Brad Dvorak made the winning pass on the last lap of the second Super Stock feature, finishing ahead of Brian Helle, who led all but the last lap. Roger Merta crossed the stripe in third.








Heat #1- A.J. Felker

Heat #2- Steve Barth

Heat #3- Jimmy McCune

Heat #4- A.J. Davis

Semi-Feature- Jay Drake

FEATURE (30 laps)

1.       Kasey Kahne

2.       Dave Darland

3.       Tracy Hines

4.       Bobby East

5.       Aaron Fike

6.       Michael Lewis

7.       Jimmy McCune

8.       Jay Drake

9.       Aaron Pierce

10.    A.J. Fike

11.    J.J. Yeley

12.    A.J. Felker

13.    Ryan Scott

14.    Tony Ave

15.    Steve Barth

16.    Jerry Coons, Jr.

17.    A.J. Davis

18.    Brian Gerster

19.    Sarah McCune

20.    Steven Robertson

21.    Aaron Pollack

22.    David Gough



FEATURE (25 laps)

1.       Steve Kibort Milan, IL

2.       Craig Bender, Cedar Rapids

3.       Curt Van Der Wal, Oskaloosa

4.       Martin Ballard, Marengo

5.       Andy Duggan, Marion

6.       Dave Johnson, Ankeny

7.       JJ Meyer, Cedar Rapids

8.       Johnny Mudd, Cedar Rapids

9.       Tom Burke, Nevada

10.    Ross Kurth,  Waukon

11.    Ron Fisher, Shellsburg

12.    Brian Franks, Central City

13.    Bryan Jones, Swisher

14.    Paul Walder, Cedar Rapids

15.    Dan Zamastil, Fairfax

16.    Tom Mangano, Marion

17.    Jason Vincent, Nevada

18.    John Henecke, Hiawatha

19.    Jack Vincent, Nevada

20.    Scot Johnson, Ankeny

21.    Bruce Scheff, Swisher

22.    Lyle Williams

23.    Kevin Lee, Homestead

24.    Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids



FEATURE (25 laps)

1.       Mike Schulte, Norway

2.       Larry Clausen, Cedar Rapids

3.       Scott Wennermark, Cedar Rapids

4.       John Troxel, Cedar Rapids

5.       Trent Ross, Cedar Rapids

6.       Brian Allen, Hiawatha

7.       Keith Gogel, Solon

8.       Don Long, Anamosa

9.       Eric Lamphier, Marion

10.    James Lamphier, Urbana

11.    Bob Gase, Cedar Rapids

12.    Pat Flannagan, Cedar Rapids’

13.    Beau Duffield, Cedar Rapids

14.    Mike Thomas. Cedar Rapids

15.    Arlo Becker, Atkins

16.    Jim Williams, Atkins

17.    David Novotny, Solon



FEATURE #1 (25 laps)

1.       Clint Houdek,  Anamosa

2.       John Baker, Cedar Rapids

3.       Aric Becker, Cedar Rapids

4.       Doug Simon, Marion

5.       Brad Helle, Cedar Rapids

6.       Randy Filling, Toddville

7.       Don Johnson, Cedar Rapids

8.       Scott Grady, Walker

9.       Chad Siems, Mt. Auburn

10.    Roland Bohnsack, Clutier

11.    Jerry Bruce, Cedar Rapids

12.    Derrick Griesehop, Mt. Vernon

13.    Merv Chandler, Cedar Rapids

14.    Walter Case, Cedar Rapids

15.    Brian Franks, Central City

16.    Jeremy Crimmins, Ft. Dodge

17.    Joe Dumond, Cedar Rapids


FEATURE #2 (25 laps)

1.       Brad Dvorak, Mt. Vernon

2.       Brian Helle, Cedar Rapids

3.       Roger Merta, Walford

4.       Jim Beer, Cedar Rapids

5.       Kurt Bohnsack, Coralville

6.       Jerry Meyerhoff, Cedar Rapids

7.       Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids

8.       Ed O’Brien, Cedar Rapids

9.       Mike Brecht, Cedar Rapids

10.    Tink Willey, Marion

11.    Arnie Reif, Hiawatha

12.    John Ness, Cedar Rapids

13.    Tim Dains, Marion

14.    Sonny Parker, Cedar Rapids

15.    Jeff Franks, Rowley

16.    Brenda Thomsen, Cedar Rapids