PHOTOS: Jim Wittke, Speedway Souvenir

(Cedar Rapids, IA 05/17/2013)—Friday night, May 17 was “Darrah’s Towing and Recovery Night” at Hawkeye Downs Speedway. In addition to five of the regular Hawkeye Downs divisions the Mid-American Stock Car Series made its first appearance at Hawkeye Downs since 2009.

Brad Keith of West Bend, WI won the “Darrah’s Towing 45” for that series. The seventeen entries included Hawkeye Downs Mountain Dew Sportsmen drivers Dave McCalla, Ben Glascock, Brian Gibson, and Jim Hanson.

Complete story and results available at

“DARRAHS TOWING 45”(results unofficial) 1. (48) Brad Keith, West Bend, WI; 2. (5)Bill Prietzel, Richfield, WI; 3. (32) Lyle Nowack, Wausau, WI; 4. (22Jeremy Spoonmore, Somonauk, IL; 5. (74) Rick Tackman, JR., Waukesha, WI ; 6. (83B) Brian Gibson, Walford, IA; 7. (2)Kevin Gentile; 8. (21) Adam Bendzick, Elko, MN; 9. (26)Jack Stern, West Bend, WI; 10. (83)Ben Glascock, Indianola, IA; 11. (54)Mark Pluer, Brookfield, WI; 12. (23)Dan Gilster, West Salem, WI; 13. (88) Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 14. (80)Dusty Krebs, Hartford, WI; 15. (174)Tim Fulford, Solesbury, IA; DNS- Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids, IA



                Matt Petrzelka notched his second Barron Motor Supply Hobby Stocks win of the young 2013 season, taking the lead from Matt Lacoursiere on lap 6 of the scheduled fifteen lap event. Petrzelka cruised toward the win while Brandon Herb and Lacoursiere battled for second. The two tangled with four laps to go resetting the field. Petrzelka  again bolted from the field on the restart  and cruised to the win with Malena Betzer holding down second. Lacoursiere finished third.

HEAT- 1. (22)Matt Petrzelka, Norway; 2.(2)Matt Lacoursiere, Cedar Rapids; 3.(57)Malena Betzer, Cedar Rapids; 4.(12)Brandon Herb, Marion; 5.(11)Brian Bries, Norway; 6.(2x)Bob McCorkle; 7. (54)Jason Sherman, Marengo (DNF)

FEATURE (15 laps) 1. Petrzelka 2.Betzer 3.Herb 4.McCorkle 5.Lacoursiere 6.Bries DNS-Sherman




            In Sunline Hornets, Todd Ness picked up his first win of 2013, holding off last weeks’ winner Kurt Bohnsack for the win. The race got off to a rocky start with a crash on lap two but the field quickly settled down after the restart. Jose DeJesus was the early leader before Dallas Chandler snuck under for the lead. By lap seven Ness has powered around Chandler for the lead with Bohnsack right on his tail. With 8 laps remaining the duo ran side-by-side but Ness was able to hold off Bohnsack to secure the win. Chandler finished in third behind Chandler.

HEAT- 1. (4)Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City; 2.(6)Todd Ness, Cedar Rapids; 3.(7)Zach Cheavlier, Marion; 4.(3)Dallas Chandler, Cedar Rapids; 5.(24)Jose DeJesus, Cedar Rapids; 6.(8R)Jeff Dvorak,Lisbon; 7. (9d)Dan Schmidt, Cedar Rapids; 8.(7b)Brad Schmidt, Cedar Rapids; 9.(56)Dan Hartman, Cedar Rapids; 10.(44)Troy Scott

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. Ness 2.Bohnsack 3.Chandler 4.Dvorak 5.Chevalier 6.DeJesus 7.B. Schmidt 8.D. Schmidt 9. Hartman 10. Scott





            A stellar field on Dublin City Pub Legends was on hand Friday night with a good mix of travelers and regular drivers.  Bryce Bailey led the early laps with Matt Blake running second. By lap seven, Rod McGlothlen had moved into second and he and Bailey were pulling away from the pack. Lapped traffic came into play on lap thirteen and the two leaders tangled in turn one bringing out the caution and putting both of those cars on the hook.

            That put Garret Harris on point for the restart with eventual race winner Andy jones running second. Those two quickly left the rest of the pack behind and Jones wasted little time taking the lead from Harris before cruising to the win. Garret Harris remained in second while Randy Harris finished third.

HEAT 1- 1.(51)Bryce Bailey, Cedar Rapids; 2.(20) Garrett Harris, Joliet, IL; 3.(86) Kevin Korsmo, Atkins; 4. (02)Jason Beauregard, Cedar Rapids; 5. (29)Caleb Adrian, Davenport; 6. (43)Gary Dyer, Bettendorf; 7. (37) Jordan Walker

HEAT 2-1. (74R)Matt Blake, Cedar Rapids; 2. (29k)Austin Kunert, Batavia, IL; 3. (11)Andy Jones, Park City, IL; 4. (27)Randy Harris, Joliet, IL; 5. (66)Dennis Diercks, Davenport; 6. (10) Mark Ironside, Swisher

HEAT 3- 1. (32)Rod McGlothlen, Oskaloosa; 2. (99m) Logan Mitchell, Palmyra, MO; 3. (64) Danny Lehmkuhl, Cedar Rapids; 4. (01) Tim Goettsch, Davenport; 5. (95)Al Diercks, Davenport; 6. (0)Brooke Schantz, Luray, MO

FEATURE (30 laps) 1. Jones  2.G. Harris  3.R. Harris  4.Blake  5.Beauregard  6.Kunert  7.Litchell  8.Korsmo  9.Adrian  10.Goettsch 11.Lehmkuhl  12.D. Diercks  13.Ironside  14.A. Diercks  15.Dyer  16.Walker  17.Schantz  18. Bailey (DNF) 19. McGlothlen (DNF)




            In other Hy-Vee/I-Wireless Championship Series action, Tim Plummer had little trouble disposing of the field in the Miller Time Modifieds.. By lap six, the multi-time track champion had nearly a half-lap lead over the rest of the field. Last week’s winner Brian Gibson did cut into the lead as the laps ticked off but wasn’t yet in a position to challenge when the last of twenty laps ticked off the board. After suffering troubles in the heat race, Jim Dixon rallied to a third-place finish.

HEAT- 1. (66) Tim Plummer, Cedar Rapids; 2. (8) Ryan Luedtke, Norway; 3. (17)Brian Gibson, Walford; 4. (5)Ed O’Brien, Cedar Rapids; 5. (26) James Dixon, Cedar Rapids

FEATURE( 20laps) 1. Plummer 2. Gibson 3.Dixon 4.Luedtke 5.O’Brien




            The finale of the night, the Carpetland USA Late Models feature, saw Tim Plummer trying to repeat his performance from the modified race. Plummer built a huge lead by lap ten with Griffin McGrath and Joey Gase trying to run him down. That pair steadily closed in on the extended green run and by lap  twenty-one McGrath had pulled right up to Plummer’s rear decklid. Two laps later McGrath wrestled the lead from Plummer and went on to collect the checkers ahead of McGrath, Gase, Brian Allen and Chad Siems.


            All six divisons will be back in action next Friday night May 24 for the 12th Annual Keith Fleck Memorial Wall of Fame night.