(Cedar Rapids, IA  May 16, 2014)—Jeremy Spoonmore of Waukesha, WI emerged as the victor in the “First Lady 46” for the Mid-American Stock Car Series on a cool, breezy night at Hawkeye Downs Speedway Friday. Spoonmore, who started outside row five in the 17-car field, worked methodically through the pack and on a restart spurred by the third and final caution of the race he took the point and then motored to the win.

The entertaining 46-lap feature, presented by Thompson Truck and Trailer, along with Glascock Flooring,  saw Kevin Gentile finish second about a half-second behind the leader. Erik Pierce finished third while Scott Dunning and Jeff Holtz completed the top of the order.

A complete race recap is available on the Mid-American Stock Car Series website at www.midamericanracing.com

            Friday night was week three of the Hy-Vee Racing Series as Carpetland USA Late Models, Sunline Hornets, Barron Motor Supply Hobby Stocks, Dublin City Pub Legends, amd Miller Time Modifieds were also in action.

            Kurt Bohnsack kept his win streak rolling in the Sunline Hornets taking the lead from Dallas Chandler with four laps remaining in the fifteen lap feature. Troy Scott led the first trip around the quarter-mile but Dallas Chandler quickly moved to the front with Bohnsack flowing him through. At the halfway mark Chandler had about a two car length margin over Bohnsack but that evaporated quickly as Bohnsack caught the leader with six laps remaining and made the winning pass two laps later.

            Brad Schmidt finished third while Zach Hartman was fourth. Troy Scott ended up fifth.

            The Barron Motor Supply Hobby Stocks feature featured a wild, four-wide first lap with Jason Sherman squeezing into the lead as the pack exited turn two on the first trip around the quarter-mile. Sherman was chased early by Matt Petrzelka and Adam Petrzelka with Nathan Ballard in the mix as well. Ballard got by both of the Petrzelka cars and with nine laps remaining Ballard powered into the lead. Matt Petrzelka held on for the second spot while Jim Hanson, who started shotgun on the field, finished third. Adam Petrzelka crossed the newly repainted finish line in fourth and Jacob Floyd finished fifth.

            The Miller Time Modified feature went to Brian Gibson of Walford as he held off last weeks’ winner Ryan Luedtke for the win. Luedtke was the co-point leader coming into the night but the other co-leader Jake Griffin wasn’t at the speedway Friday night as Tim Plummer, his car owner, is on his honeymoon after getting married last weekend.

            Chad Siems led the first five trips around the half-mile in the Carpetland USA Late Model Feature but the lead was erased a couple laps later after a spin brought out the caution. Dudley Fleck, piloting the car normally driven by the vacationing Tim Plummer, quickly took the lead on the restart and then waged a spirited battle with Griffin McGrath for the balance of the race. McGrath pulled alongside on two occasions, tried the high line, tried the low line, and tried a bump and run maneuver but couldn’t quite complete a pass as the laps ticked off.

            The caution flag waved again with three laps to go setting up a dash to the finish. Fleck was able to hold off McGrath over the final three laps to secure the win. Chad Siems posted a strong run finishing third while Scott Siems was fourth and Caleb Adrian was fifth.

            Finally, the Dublin City Pub INEX Legends ran another entertaining 25-lap feature with Austin Kunert picking up his first win of 2014. Kunert started outside row two and quickly launched into the lead. A lap three caution bunched the pack back up but when the green waved Kunert st6arted building a lead once again. Kevin Korsmo was the closest pursuer running about six car lengths back with Bryce Bailey on his tail. The front of the pack stayed the same until Bailey passed Korsmo for second with two laps remaining Bailey put a bit of a dent in Kunerts lead over the final two laps but Kunert crossed the stripe to take the win  by a comfortable margin. Bailey was second, Korsmo third, Mark Ironside fourth, and Brett Moffitt was fifth.

            Racing resumes next Friday night, May 23 with all six divisions back in action.



Mid-American Stock Car Series

Presented by


May 16, 2014


HEAT 1- 1. (51) Bryce Bailey, Cedar Rapids; 2. (66) Dennis Diercks, Eldridge; 3.(25)Cole O’Brien, Cedar Rapids; 4.(86)kevin.korsmo, Atkins; 5.(64) Brett Moffitt, Grimes; 6.(77) warren Ropp, Kalona; 7. (13) TJ Aimers

HEAT 2.- 1. (00)Brody Willett, Alburnett; 2.(29) Austin Kunert, Batavia, IL; 3.(10) Mark Ironside, Swisher; 4.(21) Mark Greb, Coralville; 5. (37) Danny Lehmkuhl, Cedar Rapids;  DNS (95) Al Diercks, Davenport

(FEATURE (25 laps) 1. Kunert 2.Bailey 3.Korsmo 4.Ironside 5.Moffitt 6.Ropp 7.Lehmkuhl 8.O’Brien 9. Al Diercks 10. Greb 11. Aimers 12. Willett DNS- Dennis Diercks


HEAT- 1.  (4) Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City; 2.(2m) Dallas Chandler, Vinton; 3.(7b) Brad Schmidt, Cedar Rapids; 4.(14) Zach Hartman, Cedar Rapids; 5.(44) Troy Scott, Cedar Rapids; 6. (1a) Trent Jochimsen; 7(1) Kaden Reynolds

FEATURE (15 laps) 1. Bohnsack 2. Chandler 3.Schmidt 4.Hartman 5. Scott 6. Jochimsen 7. Reynolds


HEAT 1- 1. (48)Adam Petrzelka, Norway; 2.(54) Jason Sherman, Marengo; 3. (12k) Kandi Floyd, Cedar Rapids; 4.(00n) Drew Nickell, Cedar Rapids: DNS- (2) Matt Lacoursiere, Cedar Rapids; DNS- (6) John Ness, Cedar Rapids

HEAT 2- 1. (29)Nathan Ballard, Marengo; 2. (22) Matt Petrzelka,Norway; 3.(14j) Jacob Floyd, Cedar Rapids; 4.(57) Malena Clement, Marion; 5.(77) Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids

FEATURE (15 laps) 1. Ballard; 2. Matt Petrzelka 3.Hanson 4.Adam Petrzelka 5. Jacob Floyd 6.Kandi Floyd 7.Sherman 8.Clement 9. Nickell 10. Lacoursiere DNS- Ness


HEAT- 1. (17 Brian Gibson, Walford; 2. (8) Ryan Luedtke, Norway

FEATURE (10laps) 1. Gibson 2. Luedtke


HEAT- 1. (64)Griffin McGrath, Cedar Rapids; 2.(74) Dudley Fleck, Robins; 3. (72) Brad Osborn, Janesville; 4. (29) Caleb Adrian, Davenport; 5. (43) Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids; 6. (76) Chad Siems, Shellsburg; 7. (99) Logan Mitchell, Palmyra, MO

FEATURE(25 laps) 1 . Fleck 2.McGrath 3.Chad Siems 4. Scott Siems 5. Adrian 6. Mitchell 7. Osborn


HEAT- 1. (47) Kenny Joosten, Wonder Lake, IL; 2. (38) Jeff Holtz, Muskego, WI; 3. (54) Mark Pluer, Brookfield, WI; 4. (23) Dan Gilster, West Salem, WI; 5. (21) Adam Bendzick, Elko, MN; 6. (132) Scott Dunning, Bollingbrook, IL; 7.(83) Ben Glascock, Indianola, IA; 8. (30) David Slack, Engadine, MI

HEAT- 2.(8) Erik Pierce, Crystal Lake, IL; 2.(32) Lyle Nowak, Wausau, WI; 3.(95) Jeremy Spoon more, Somonauk, IL; 4.(2) Kevin Gentile, Elwood, IL; 5.(38) Brian Holtz, Franksville, WI; 6. (62) Scott Null, Lake Mills, WI; 7.(3) Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids, IA; 8.(98) Greg Beebe, Waukesha, WI; 9.(74) Rick Tackman, Jr., Waukesha, WI

FIRST LADY 46 FEATURE- 1. Spoonmore 2.Gentile 3.Pierce 4.Dunning 5.Jeff Holtz 6.Tackman, JR 7. Gilster 8.Nowak 9. Pluer 10.Bendzick 11.Holtz 12. Glascock 13. Beebe 14. Joosten 15. Null 16. McCalla 17. Slack