( Cedar Rapids, IA  05/16/08)—Defending champion Dave McCalla of Cedar Rapids has once again established himself as the man to beat in the Budweiser Sportsmen division. McCalla picked up his third straight win of the 2008 campaign Friday night during Hawkeye International Trucks Night. McCalla started the 25-lap feature started outside the second row, gained two spots in the first two laps and secured the point from Kevin Lee on lap 4.


Caution bunched the field on lap seven but McCalla quickly pulled away once the green flag waved. Kevin Lee continued to ride in second but Andy Duggan made a race of it in the closing laps in his first appearance of the season. Duggan ran out of laps and finished third, followed by Michael Weber and Bob Ahrendsen.


Four-time Coors Light Modified Champion Tim Plummer notched his first win of 2008 after starting on the pole for that divisions 25-lap feature. Larry Clausen and Arlo Becker tangled in turn three of the first lap with Clausen collecting the foam barrier. Thanks to the barrier cushioning the blow, Clausen was able to continue and he was a man on a mission following the restart working his way up to challenge Chad Willett for second in the closing laps. Willett prevailed for the second spot with Clausen third, Tony Olson fourth and Arlo Becker fifth.


Moving to the quarter-mile and other Papa Johns Cup Championship action, Kurt Bohnsack of Iowa City collected his second win of the season in Barron Motor Supply IMCA Stock Cars using the high side to perfection to work his way to the front after starting ninth. Bohnsack was up to third by lap 11 and nabbed second three laps later. Bohnsack took control on lap 19 after passing Chad Siems, survived a restart with 5 laps to go and motored to a .819 second winning margin over Siems.  Bob Ahrendsen finished third, Randy Filling was fourth, and Dennis Hundley placed fifth.


Kurt Bohnsacks’ older brother Roland also visited victory lane on Friday night after winning a 20-lap feature for the Barron Motor Supply IMCA Hobby Stocks. Roland bested a season-high 16 car field taking the lead from Scott Siems on lap 13 of the scheduled 20 lapper.  Gary Pfantz, who had won the first two features of the season,  posted another strong finish, taking second after starting ninth.  Tim Dains came in third followed by Dennis Klinsky and Ed O’Brien.


The IMCA SportMod feature went to Arnie Reif who posted his first win of 2008. Reif took the lead on lap eight and held off Ryan Luedtke to take the checkers. Luedtke, who has one win so far this season, finished second while Jason Doyle was third, Aric Becker fourth, and Jamie Huff crossed the stripe in fifth.


The Sunline Hornets picked up a couple more entries and were rewarded with 5 extra laps in their feature. Jeff Selfridge wasted little time in taking command of the race after bolting into the lead from inside the second row. Jim Hanson and Brad Chandler battled hard for the second slot with Chandler eventually winning the position and Hanson settling for third. Derek Parrott finished fourth and Blake Carson was fifth.


The Riekens Racing Go-Karts were also in attendance Friday night with competitors in both the Junior and Senior Champ Kart divisions. Ten year old Tanner Allen won the Junior division while Bill Riekens was the top finisher in the Senior division.


Racing returns next Friday night with all seven divisions, including the Miller Lite Late Models, in action.


IMCA SportMods

Heat- 1. Jason Doyle, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Jamie Huff, Center Point, IA; 3. Arnie Reif, Hiawatha, IA; 4. Aric Becker, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Ryan Luedtke, Norway, IA; 6. Scott Grady, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Mike Dains, Mechanicsville, IA.

Feature (20 laps) 1. Reif  2. Luedtke  3. Doyle  4. Becker  5. Huff  6. Grady  7. Dains


Sunline Hornets

Heat 1- 1. Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Jeff Selfridge, Marion, IA; 3. Derek Parrott, Marion, IA; 4. Brad Burhite, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Nate Chandler, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Jonny Williams, Atkins, IA; DNS- Shane Hanson, Cedar Rapids, IA

Heat 2- 1. Merv Chandler, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Blake Carson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Jasen Freeman, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Jose DeJesus, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Brad Chandler, Vinton, IA; 6. Dana Pfab, Marion, IA

Feature (20 laps) 1. Selfridge 2. Brad Chandler 3. Jim Hanson  4. Parrott 5. Carson  6. Burhite  7. Nate Chandler  8. Merv Chandler 9.  deJesus  10. Williams  11. Shane Hanson  12. Freeman  DNS-Pfab


Barron Motor Supply IMCA Hobby Stocks

Heat 1. – 1. Tim Dains, Marion, IA; 2. Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Roland Bohnsack, Clutier, IA; 4. Ed O’Brien, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Shawn Myers, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Bruce Fraser; 7. Jodi Cranston; 8. Jeff Franks

Heat 2- 1. Kandi Floyd, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Dennis Klinsky, Ely, IA; 3. Duayne Herb, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Gary Pfantz, State Center, IA; 5. Nathan Ballard, Marengo, IA; 6. Scott Benesh, Newhall, IA; 7. Malena Betzer, Cedar Rapids, IA; 8. Deb Mefford, Marion, IA

Feature (20 laps)- 1. Bohnsack 2. Pfantz 3. Dains  4. Klinsky 5. O’Brien  6. Herb  7. Ballard 8. Floyd 9. Benesh  10. Betzer  11. Cranston 12. Fraser  13. Siems  14. Myers  DNS-Mefford  DNS  Franks


Barron Motor Supply IMCA Stock Cars

Heat 1. Chad Siems, Shellsburg, IA; 2. Randy Filling, Toddville, IA; 3. Brian Beatty, Palo, IA; 4. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Dave Ballstaedt, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Mark Bolton, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha, IA; 8. Brian Franks, Cedar Rapids, IA; 9. Kurt Bohsnack, Iowa City, IA; 10. Rodney Grother, Cedar Rapids, IA; 11. Dennis Hundley, Center Point. IA

Feature- 1. Bohnsack 2. Siems 4. Ahrendsen 4. Filling 5. Hundley  6. Ballstaedt 7. Hentrich  8. Grother  9. Bolton  10. Beatty  11. Franks


Coors Light Modifieds

Heat – 1. Tim Plummer, Norway; 2. Arlo Becker, Norway, IA; 3. Chad Willett, Alburnett, IA; 4. Larry Clausen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Darrell Long, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Scott Strauss, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Cory Houdek, Marion, IA; 8. Tony Olson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 9. Steve Lindell, Marion, IA

Feature (25 laps)- 1. Plummer 2. Willett  3. Clausen  4. Olson  5. Becker  6. Strauss  7. Houdek  8. Long  9. Lindell


Budweiser Mid-Am Sportsmen

Heat 1. Kevin Lee, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Mel Schappert, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Andy Duggan, Marion, IA; 6. Michael Weber, Ryan, IA 7. Andy Edwards, New Hartford, IA  8. Doug Simon, Marion, IA  9. Travis Thompson, Atkins, IA  10. Scotty Welsh, Marion, IA

Feature (25 laps)- 1. McCalla 2. Lee  3. Duggan  4. Weber  5. Ahrendsen  6. Schappert  7. Edwards  8. Simon  9. Thompson  10. Welsh