CEDAR RAPIDS, IA  05/11/2001—Steve Carlson of West Salem, WI posted an impressive victory at Hawkeye Downs Speedway Friday night besting an ever growing field in the Aggregates Late Model Division. Thirty cars took the green in front of a few thousand fans that showed up despite an early evening rain shower than seemingly appeared from nowhere.


                Carlson, in a Dodge, started 25th in the 3rd annual Aggregates 100 and methodically worked his way through the pack before wrestling the point away from fellow NASCAR REMAX competitor Justin Diercks with 31 laps remaining. Carlson, who races at Hawkeye Downs when his schedule allows, used an inside move to secure the lead after he and Diercks battled for several laps.


               Diercks maintained second at the stripe followed by his uncleMarty Diercks, Mike Ehde, and Curt Martin.


               The race, which started 30 cars, was slowed five times by the caution flag for a total of 17 laps.


               Mike Schulte won a thriller in the Miller Time Modified feature after taking the lead from Scott Wennermark with just a couple of laps remaining. With four laps remaining, as many as five cars had a shot at the win with Wennermark showing the way. Schulte used his usual combination of high and low passes to secure the point after starting 11th in the race.


                Wennermark posted another strong performance, finishing second after starting 10th on the grid. Larry Clausen, John Troxel, and Don Long made up the balance of the top five finishers.


                 The Budweiser Sportsmen feature winner was Curt Van Der Wal but his win was far from easy. Thanks to the new line-up procedures implemented this season VanDerWal started 10th and it took 20 laps for the Oskaloosa driver to move into a position to contend for the lead. Van Der Wal snagged the lead from Tom Burke with just four laps remaining.


                 Burke finished second while Johnny Mudd, JJ Meyer and Dave Johnson completed the top of the finishing order.


                  The 20- lap Super Stock Feature proved to be equally exciting. Brad Helle, a newcomer to the Super Stock ranks, took advantage of starting in the front row and took the lead after just a couple trips around the quarter-mile. Helle kept himself just ahead of the pack with Tink Willey and Clint Houdek posting a strong challenge as the laps ticked off.  Helle held on for the win in a race where the top four positions were up for grabs for much of the event.


                  Tink Willey took home second place followed by Houdek, Bob Ahrendsen, and Brad Dvorak.


                   The Late Models have Friday off but the Sportsmen, Super Stocks and Modifieds will be action Friday May 18 along with the first-ever appearance of the USAC Midgets on the Hawkeye Downs half-mile. The midgets will qualify at 6:30 with racing at 7pm.















Feature (100 laps)

1.       Steve Carlson, West Salem, WI

2.       Justin Diercks, Davenport, IA

3.       Marty Diercks, Bettendorf, IA

4.       Mike Ehde, Prarie Du Chien, WI

5.       Curt Martin, Independence, IA

6.       Brian Gibson, Cedar Rapids, IA

7.       Josh Walker, Ankeny, IA

8.       Max Corporon, Marion, IA

9.       Dudley Fleck, Cedar Rapids, IA

10.    T.J. Schaefer, Solon, IA

11.    Dave Naylor, Scotch Grove, IA

12.    Jeff King, Cedar Rapids, IA

13.    Scot Johnson, Ankeny, IA

14.    Art Christoffersen, Toddville, IA

15.    Doug Hite, Urbana, IA

16.    Kevin Korsmo, Atkins, IA

17.    Jim Ross, Cedar Rapids, IA

18.    Larry Kelley, Cedar Rapids, IA

19.    Terry Rachels, Knoxville, IA

20.    Wade Prasil,Cedar Rapids, IA

21.    Greg Kastli, Waterloo, IA

22.    John Robinson, Des Moines, IA

23.    Greg Croell

24.    Randy Coghlan, Toddville,IA

25.    Brian Allen, Hiawatha, IA

26.    Lorin Kurth, Waukon, IA

27.    Les Cady, Deer Grove, IL

28.    Johnny Spaw, Cedar Rapids, IA

29.    Keith Siefken, Cedar Rapids, IA

30.    Pete Alepra, Cedar Rapids, IA



Heat 1- John Troxel, Cedar Rapids, IA

Heat 2- Beau Duffield, Cedar Rapids, IA

Feature (25 laps)

1.       Mike Schulte, Norway, IA

2.       Scott Wennermark, Cedar Rapids, IA

3.       Larry Clausen, Cedar Rapids, IA

4.       John Troxel, Cedar Rapids, IA

5.       Don Long, Anamosa, IA

6.       Arlo Becker, Atkins, IA

7.       Bob Gase, Cedar Rapids, IA

8.       Jim Williams, Cedar Rapids, IA

9.       Brian Allen, Hiawatha, IA

10.    Ternt Ross, Cedar Rapids,IA

11.    Mike Thomas, Cedar Rapids, IA

12.    Keith Gogel, Solon, IA

13.    Beau Duffield, Cedar Rapids, IA

14.    Bill Flannagan, Cedar Rapids, IA

15.    Eric Lamphier, Marion, IA

16.    James Lamphier, Urbana, IA

17.    Ptrick Flannagan, Cedar Rapids, IA

18.    Mike Duffus, Newton, IA




Heat #1- Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids, IA

Heat #2- Brad Dvorak, Mt. Vernon, IA

Heat #3- Brian Helle, Cedar Rapids, IA

B Feature

1.       John Baker, Cedar Rapids, IA

2.       Chad Siems, Mt. Auburn, IA

3.       Kurt Bohnsack, North Liberty, IA

4.       Jerry Bruce, Cedar Rapids, IA

5.       Brenda Thomsen, Cedar Rapids, IA

6.       Walter Case, Cedar Rapids, IA

7.       Roland Bohnsack, Clutier, IA


Feature (20 laps)

1.       Brad Helle, Cedar Rapids, IA

2.       Tink Willey, Cedar Rapids, IA

3.       Clint Houdek, Anamosa.,IA

4.       Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar rapids, IA

5.       Brad Dvorak, Mt. Vernon, IA

6.       Brian Franks

7.       Arice becker, Cedar Rapids, IA

8.       John Ness, Cedar rapids, IA

9.       Derrick Griesehop, Mt. Vernon, IA

10.    Don Johnson, Cedar Rapids, IA

11.    Ed O’Brien, Cedar Rapids, IA

12.    Scott Grady, Walker, IA

13.    Jeff Franks, Rowley, IA

14.    Sonny Parker, Cedar Rapids, IA

15.    Roger Merta, Cedar Rapids, IA

16.    Jerry Meyerhoff, Cedar Rapids, IA

17.    Doug Simon, Cedar rapids, IA

18.    Arnie Reif, Hiawatha, IA

19.    Mike Brecht, Cedar Rapids, IA

20.    Joe Dumond, Cedar Rapids, IA

21.    Brian Helle, Cedar rapids, IA

22.    Tim Dains, Marion, IA

23.    Jeremy Crimmins, Ft. Dodge, IA




Feature (25 laps)

1.       Curt VanDerWal, Oskaloosa, IA

2.       Tom Burke, Nevada, IA

3.       Johnny Mudd, Cedar Rapids, IA

4.       J.J. Meyer, Cedar Rapids, IA

5.       Dave Johnson, Ankeny, IA

6.       Paul Walder, Cedar Rapids, IA

7.       Andy Duggan, Marion, IA

8.       Ron Fisher, Shellsburg, IA

9.       John Henecke, Hiawatha, IA

10.    Kevin Lee, Homestead, IA

11.    Martin Ballard, Marengo, IA

12.    Ross Kurth, Waukon, IA

13.    Steve Kibort, Milan, IL

14.    Bryan Jones, Swisher, IA

15.    Jason Vincent,  Nevada, IA

16.    Brian Franks, Central City, IA

17.    Bruce Scheff, Swisher, IA

18.    Dan Zamastil, Fairfax, IA

19.    Lyle Williams, Cedar Rapids, IA

20.    Scot Johnson, Ankeny, IA

21.    Brad Daugherty, Hiawatha, IA

22.    Tom Mnagano, Cedar Rapids, IA

23.    Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids, IA