PHOTOS: Jim Wittke, Speedway Souvenir

(Cedar Rapids, IA 05 10 13) After a week delay caused by bad weather, Hawkeye Downs Speedway roared to life for the 2013 season as Innovative Signs presented racing in the six divisions of the Hy-Vee/ I-Wireless Championship Series.

Among the drivers on hand Friday night were four defending season champions from last season. Matt Petrzelka in Barron Motor Supply Hobby Stocks, Dave McCalla in Mountain Dew Sportsmen, Brian Gibson in Miller Time Modifieds, and Kevin Korsmo in Dublin City Pub Legends.


In the first Barron Motor Supply Hobby Stock feature of 2013, Matt Petrzelka didn’t show any signs of the off-season layoff as he took the lead from Matt Lacoursiere on lap nine of the scheduled fifteen lap event and motored to his first win of 2013.  Lacouirsiere held off Brandon Herb for second. Jason Sherman and Malena Betzer completed the top of the running order.

Heat- 1. Matt Petrzelka, Norway; 2.Brandon Herb, Marion; 3. Matt Lacoursiere, Cedar Rapids; 4. Malena Betzer, Cedar Rapids; 5. Bob McCorkle; 6.Jason Sherman, Marengo

FEATURE (15 laps) 1. Petrzelka 2.Lacoursiere 3. Herb 4.Sherman 5. Betzer 6. McCorkle


Kurt Bohnsack laid claim to the first Sunline Hornets feature of the season after taking the point on lap three. Bohnsack had Todd Ness in his mirror for most of the race and outlasted a couple challenges including one on a restart with 4 laps to go.

Ness settled for second and was chased to the stripe by Dallas Chandler, Dan Schmidt, and Zach Chevalier.

Heat 1.- Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City; 2. Zach Chevalier, Marion; 3.Todd Ness, Cedar Rapids; 4. Jose DeJesus, Cedar Rapids; 5. Zach Hartman, Cedar Rapids

Heat 2- 1. Dan Schmidt, Cedar Rapids; 2. Dallas Chandler, Cedar Rapids; 3.Jeff Dvorak, Lisbon; 4.Brad Schmidt, Cedar Rapids; 5. Dan Hartman, Cedar Rapids; 6. Troy Scott

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. Bohnsack 2. Ness 3. Chandler 4.D. Schmidt 5. Chevalier 6. Dvorak 7. DeJesus 8. B. Schmidt 9. D. Hartman 10. Scott 11. Z. Hartman


In Dublin City Pub Legends, Aaron Moyer led the lap that counted the most after a wild  seventeen-car race that saw him go from the front to the back and back to the front. Defending champion Kevin Korsmo finished second as he didn’t have quite enough to catch Moyer as the laps ticked off. Rod McGlothlen scored third, Dennis Diercks was fourth, and Jason Beauregard was fifth.

Heat 1- 1. Aaron Moyer, Cleveland, OH; 2. Bryce Bailey, Cedar Rapids; 3. Logan Mitchell, Palmyra, MO; 4. Tim Goettsch, Davenport; 5. Mark Ironside, Swisher; 6. Gary Dyer, Bettendorf,; 7. Adrianne Hartman, Wilton; 8. Caleb Adrian, Davenport

Heat 2- 1. Kevin Korsmo, Atkins; 2. Dennis Diercks, Davenport; 3. Jason Beauregard, Cedar Rapids; 4. Rod McGlothlen, Oskaloosa; 5. Matt Blake, Cedar Rapids; 6. Austin Kunert; 7. Warren Ropp, Kalona; 8. Ross Davisson

FEATURE (20 laps) 1- Moyer 2. Korsmo 3. McGlothlen 4. D. Diercks 5. Beauregard 6. Al Diercks 7. Kunert 8. Adrian 9. Goettsch 10. Ironside 11. Ropp 12. Dyer 13. Hartman 14. Davisson 15. Mitchell 16. Blake 17. Bailey



Dave McCalla, the defending champion, had a relatively easy run to the checkers in Mountain Dew Sportsmen after taking an early lead from Greg Hentrich. Cory Houdek had a nice run finishing second while Ben Glascock scored third after starting on point. Hentrich finished fourth and Dave Ballstaedt was fifth.

Heat 1. Cory Houdek, Marion; 2.Dave Ballstaedt, Marion; 3.Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids; 4. Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha; 5. Ben Glascock, Indianola

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. McCalla 2. Houdek 3. Glascock 4. Hentrich 5. Ballstaedt



In Miller Time Modifieds, defending champion Brian Gibson and multi-time champion Tim Plummer waged a great battle for several laps before Gibson pulled away. Plummer crept back into the picture with six laps to go but Gibson outlasted the challenge and posted his first win of 2013. Craig Bender ran a strong race finishing third behind Bender. Ryan Luedtke was fourth and Jim Dixon scored fifth.

Heat 1. Tim Plummer, Cedar Rapids; 2.Craig bender, Cedar Rapids; 3.Brian Gibson, Walford; 4. Ryan Luedtke, Norway; 5. James Dixon, Cedar Rapids DNS- Ed Obrien, Cedar Rapids

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. Gibson 2. Plummer 3. Bender 4. Luedtke 5. Dixon 5. O’Brien



Chad Siems started on the pole for the Carpetland USA Late Model feature with the McGrath Auto.com Dodge Challenger Hawkeye Downs Pace Car leading the way.  Brad Osborn led the opening circuit but Tim Plummer quickly moved up to challenge and took the lead  on lap four.

It appeared that Plummer had the race well in hand as he continued to pull away from the pack while Brian Allen and Jay Jaspers battled for the second spot. Plummers run would be cut short though as the engine stumbled as he started lap fourteen and he had to take the #74 to the pits, which put Jaspers in the lead.

Allen stayed within striking distance  and with five laps to go was right on Jaspers rear bumper. Allen pulled alongside Jaspers twice in the waning laps but couldn’t make the pass. Jaspers, a sixteen year old,  took the checkers by three-quarters of a car length ov er Allen to secure his first Late Model win. Chad Siems finished third, his brother Scott Siems was fourth, and Brad Osborn was fifth.

Heat- 1. Tim Plummer, Cedar Rapids; 2.Jay Jaspers, Steamboat Rock; 3. Brian Allen, Hiawatha; 4. Brad Osborn, Janesville, 5. Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids; 6. Chad Siems, Shellsburg

FEATURE (30 laps) 1. Jaspers 2.Allen 3. C. Siems 4.S. Siems 5. Osborn 6. Plummer


Racing returns next week as Darrah’s Towing and Recovery present the racing program. All of the regular divisions race next Friday except Mountain Dew Sportsmen. The Mid-America Stock Car Series will also be on the program as drivers from the Midwest battle on the Hawkeye Downs half-mile. Some Hawkeye Downs Sportsmen division drivers are expect to join the Mid-Am cars on the half-mile for this event.