By Brad Grupe


(Cedar Rapids, IA  050704)—Despite a dismal forecast and very cool temperatures Hawkeye Downs Speedway was able to open the 2004 season on Friday night with the Yellowbook Mid-American Stock Cars and Super Trucks teaming up with Hawkeye Downs ASA Late Models, Modifieds, Super Stocks, and IMCA Hobby Stocks.


            A record field of 33 Mid-AM Stock Cars signed in, with Curt Van Der Wal of Oskaloosa turning the fastest lap during qualifying. VanDerWal broke the previous track record for the division touring the ‘Downs half-mile in 19. 647 seconds. The previous record was 19.868 set by Jesse Wilcox in 2000.


            Sixteen cars advanced to the 40 lap feature event with six advancing from a fifteen lap last chance race and two more earning a spot based on 2003 series points.


            Bobby Gutknecht, Oak Creek, WI  started outside the front row and shot into the lead as the green flag dropped and held off a very persistent Jonathon Eilen throughout the course of the race. Another pesky driver was Peter Hernandez, no stranger to Victory Lane at the Cedar Rapids speedplant himself. George Shultz finished fourth while Bill Prietzel crossed the stripe in fifth.


            The highest finishing Hawkeye Downs Sportsmen Driver, who were able to run with the Stock Cars, was Curt Van Der Wal.


            Lonsdale, MN driver Andy Jirik started deep in the field for the forty lap Super Truck feature before the collecting the checkers in that event. Jirik moved to the outside groove as the green waved and was able to motor past the majority of the field in his quest for the checkers. Jirik nabbed the lead from Bill Prietzel on lap 27 and then survived a couple late cautions before securing the trip to Coca-Cola Victory Lane.


            Finishing behind Jirik, was fellow Minnesota driver Jamie Farrell of New Prague and Hawkeye Downs driver Kevin Korsmo, who also started deep in the field. Korsmo is piloting a truck that he will be running on most Friday nights with the Hawkeye Downs Sportsmen.


            Brad Osborn took advantage of Dudley Fleck’s misfortune in the Late Model feature, taking the lead on a restart with seven laps to go. Fleck pulled in to the pits with problems on the restart opening the door to victory lane for Osborn. Jeff King scored a second crossing the stripe .388 seconds behind Osborn. Denny Osborn nabbed third with rookie Landon Cassill finishing fourth and Chris Sevey was fifth.


            Max Corporon bested Arlo Becker in the  20-lap Miller Time Modifieds feature in a car owned by Jody Lana. Landon Cassill backed up his good finish in the Late Models with a third place finish in this race. Larry Clausen was fourth with Tim Plummer scoring fifth.


            In the inaugural  feature for the IMCA Hobby Stocks Matt Poduska of Cedar Rapids topped the  22 car field holding off Jeff Selfridge and Aaron Meyer for the win. Bryce Mitchell and Griffin McGrath finished out the top of the order. The division, which runs rules administered by IMCA, is expected to draw competitors from both dirt and asphalt throughout the season.


            Bob Ahrendsen held off Dave McCalla to earn the trip to victory lane in the Barron Motor Supply Super Stocks 20-lap feature. Ahrendsen  started outside row one and took command of the race on the restart with Randy Filling also in the mix. Filling finished third with Paul Walder and Jim Hanson rounding out the top five.


MID-AM Stock Cars 40 lap Feature

1. Bobby Gutknecht, Oak Creek, WI

2. Jonathon Eilen, Hampton, MN

3. Peter Hernandez, Mokena, IL

4. George Schultz, Park City, IL

5. Bill Prietzel, Franklin, WI

6. Curt Van Der Wal, Oskaloosa

7. Ron Weyer, Jackson, WI

8. Mike Skaja, New Prague, MN

9. Brett Piontek, Green Bay, WI

10. Jeremy Miller, Rockton, IL


MID-AM Super Trucks 40 lap Feature

1. Andy Jirik, Lonsdale, MN

2. Jamie Farrell, New Prague, MN

3. Kevin Korsmo, Cedar Rapids, IA

4. Bill Prietzel, Franklin, WI

5. Vince Wilkinson, Sandwich, IL

6. Tony Holm, Prior Lake, MN

7. Anthony Brewer, Shakopee, MN

8. John Froelich, Chippewa Falls, MN

9. Kyle Bauknecht, Reedsville, WI

10. John Vig, Jr., Shakopee, MN


Marines. Com IMCA Hobby Stocks 25 lap Feature

1. Matt Poduska, Cedar Rapids

2. Jeff Selfridge, Marion

3. Aaron Meyer, Cedar Rapids

4. Bryce Mitchell, Cedar Rapids

5. Griffin McGrath, Cedar Rapids

6. Scott Strauss, Cedar Rapids

7. Roland Bohnsack, Clutier

8. Rodney Grother, Cedar Rapids

9. Dave Gleason, Atkins

10. Brandon Herb, Marion

11. Steve Snyder, Cedar Rapids

12. Ron Dighton, Cedar Rapids

13. Mike Desotel, Cedar Rapids

14. Deb Mefford, Marion

15. Jerry Hinton,

16. Eric Hood, Marion

17. Mark Hauder, Dubuque

18. Perry Thomsen, Cedar Rapids

19. Gabe Phillips, Cedar Rapids

20. Bill Koepke, Cedar Rapids

21. Matt Lacoursierre, Cedar Rapids

22. Terry Shaffer, State Center


Performance Concepts Late Models 20 lap Feature

1. Brad Osborn, Janesville

2. Jeff King, Cedar Rapids

3. Denny Osborn, Janesville

4. Landon Cassill, Fairfax

5. Chris Sevey, Waterloo

6. Lyle Williams, Center Point

7. Dean Slater. Schaumburg, IL

8. Dudley Fleck, Cedar Rapids

9. Kyle Hinrichs, Swisher

10. Johnny Spaw, Cedar Rapids

11. Rick carver, Grand View, MO

12. Scott Delsing, Cedar Rapids


Miller Time Modifieds 20 lap Feature

1. Max Corporon, Marion

2. Arlo Becker, Atkins

3. Landon Cassill, Fairfax

4. Larry Clausen, Cedar Rapids

5. Tim Plummer, Norway

6. Chad Willett, Cedar Rapids

7. Bob Gase, Cedar Rapids

8. Rodney Rocarek, Cedar Rapids

9. Shawn Stinger, Palo

10. Darrell Long, Cedar Rapids

11. Aric Becker, Cedar Rapids

12. Steve Lindell, Marion

13. Brian Allen, Hiawatha


Barron Motor Supply Super Stocks 20 lap Feature

1. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids

2. Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids

3. Randy Filling, Toddville

4. Paul Walder, Cedar Rapids

5. Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids

6. Brad Dvorak, Cedar Rapids

7. Norman Chesmore, Rowley

8. Kevin Franks, Cedar Rapids

9. Cory Houdek, Cedar Rapids

10. Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha

11. Terry Clayton, Brooklyn

12. Wendy Carnahan, Cedar Rapids

13. Jayson, Scott, Cedar Rapids

14. Scott Grady, Walker

15. Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City