(Cedar Rapids, IA 05/06/05)--  A couple first-time winners in their respective divisions highlighted an entertaining evening of racing on “All-Seasons Equipment Night” at Hawkeye Downs Speedway. Hawkeye Downs is celebrating its 80th season of racing.


Craig Bender of Cedar Rapids picked up a long sought after win in the first of two 20-lap Budweiser Sportsmen features. Bender, who has raced almost a dozen years at Hawkeye Downs, the last 8 on the half-mile, started inside row two and snagged the point on lap 13. Bender took the lead from Mel Schappert who led the first dozen laps.


Martin Ballard of Marengo reeled Bender in and the two raced side-by side for a couple laps which allowed Dave McCalla to join the fray in the closing laps. The three crossed the stripe in three-wide fashion with Bender winning by .081 seconds. Ballard finished second, and McCalla was third.


The second 20-lap Sportsmen Feature saw last weeks’ double winner Kevin Korsmo pick up win number three for the 2005 season. From his seventh starting slot Korsmo motored through the pack and took control of the race after passing Dave McCalla on lap 14. Korsmo crossed the Lint Millwright Finish Line .267 seconds ahead of Martin Ballard with Andy Duggan finishing third.  Korsmo has now won three of the four features run so far this season.


Another first time winner Friday night was Roland Bohnsack of Clutier who nabbed the hardware in the IMCA Hobby Stock Feature. Bohnsack started inside the second row and bolted into the lead. Bohnsack swapped the lead with Tim Drains before regaining control of the race. A Yellow Book Caution bunched the field with five laps to go but Bohnsack was able to maintain the lead and gain the eventual win. Dains finished second and Ron Dighton was third.


With $200 on the line courtesy of the US Marines and a couple more cars joining the field the Marines.Com Hornets took to the track. Brian Klein grabbed the win and the cash in his first start of the season finished well ahead of last weeks’ winner Rick Gallo. Connie Binder was third.


The Barron Motor Supply IMCA Stock Car Feature win went to Brad Dvorak after he scored the lead from Doug Simon on the 14th trip around the Hawkeye Downs quarter-mile. The two waged a good battle racing side-by-side before Dvorak made a high-side pass to take the lead. Simon maintained his hold on second while Chad Seems came in third.


Carlo Becker is back for another season in the Miller Time IMCA Modified division and kept his streak of winning at least one feature each season alive by collecting the checkers.  Becker took the lead on lap six and left the field far behind to wage their own battles. While Becker was cruising to the win Brian Allen was slicing through the field finishing second after starting 11th in the 30-lap event.  Allen finished in second, about a quarter second behind Becker.  Tim Plummer finished a strong third.


The Performance Concepts Late Models also ran a pair of 20-lap features with Dudley Fleck and Chris Sevey each taking the trip to Hawkeye Downs Victory Lane.   Fleck made the right division with the new restart rule electing to take the high groove on a restart triggered by a caution on lap 8.  The drivers must choose whether to run low or high as they pass a cone on the front-stretch. Fleck took the high side and ended up alongside current race leader Jeff King.


Fleck wasted little time taking the lead on the restart and quickly pulled away from the pack eventually winning the race by over five seconds. Brad Osborn finished second after starting in the fourth row and King was third.


The second late model feature saw Chris Sevey pick up his first win of 2005 after he  passed Jeff King for the point on lap 14. King maintained the second spot with Denny Osborn finishing in third.  Scott Wennermark posted an impressive fourth place finish after his crew thrashed all week rebuilding a car that was seriously damaged after piling into the turn one wall last week.


Racing resumes with all six classes in action next Friday for the “100.7 The Fox Free Race”





FEATURE (8 laps)

  1. Brian Klein, Cedar Rapids; 2. Rick Gallo, Center Point; 3. Connie Binder, Clutier; 4. Derrick Beadle, Hiawatha; DNS-Brian Bries, Norway; DNS-Shane Hanson



FEATURE (15laps)

  1. Roland Bohnsack, Clutier; 2. Tim Dains, Cedar Rapids; 3. Ron Dighton, Cedar Rapids; 4. Brandon Herb, Marion; 5. Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids; 6. Chad Vozenilek, Fairfax; 7. Aaron Meyer, Cedar Rapids; 8. Deb Mefford, Cedar Rapids; 9. Perry Thomsen, Cedar Rapids; 10. Roger Lacoursiere, Cedar Rapids; 11. Kandi Floyd, Cedar Rapids; DNS- Terry Shaffar, State Center



FEATURE ( 20 laps)

  1. Brad Dvorak, Cedar Rapids; 2. Doug Simon, Marion; 3. Chad Siems, Mt. Auburn; 4. Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City; 5. Logan Hale, Cedar Rapids; 6. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids; 7. Greg Hentrch, Hiawatha; 8. Wendy Carnahan, Cedar Rapids;9. Cory Houdek, Marion; 10. Mark Bolton, Cedar Rapids; 11. Matt Lacoursiere, Cedar Rapids



FEATURE (30laps)

  1. Arlo Becker, Norway; 2. Brian Allen, Hiawatha; 3. Tim Plummer, Norway; 4. Shawn Stinger, Palo; 5. Bob Gase, Cedar Rapids; 6. Larry Clausen, Cedar Rapids; 7. Chad Willet, Alburnett; 8. Aric Becker, Cedar Rapids; 9. Rodney Rocarek, Cedar Rapids; 10. Pat Flannagan, Cedar Rapids; 11. Keith Siefken, Cedar Rapids; 12. Scott Grady, Cedar Rapids; 13. Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids; 14. Steve Lindell, Marion; 15. Griffin McGrath, Cedar Rapids; 16. Scott Strauss, Cedar Rapids; 17. Darrell Long, Cedar Rapids



FEATURE #1 (20 laps)

  1. Craig Bender, Cedar Rapids; 2. Martin Ballard, Marengo; 3. Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids; 4. Landon Cassill, Fairfax; 5. Mel Schappert, Cedar Rapids; 6. Brian Franks, Central City; 7. Gene Peterson, Des Moines; 8. Kevin Korsmo, Atkins; 9. Andy Duggan, Marion; 10. Kevin Franks, Cedar Rapids; 11. Mark Hauder, Dubuque


FEATURE #2 (20laps)

1. Korsmo 2. Ballard 3. Duggan 4. Bender 5. Schappert 6. Brian Franks 7. McCalla  8. Kevin Franks 

9. Peterson  10. Hauder  11. Cassill 12. Kevin Lee, Cedar Rapids



FEATURE #1 (20laps)

  1. Dudley Fleck, Cedar Rapids; 2. Brad Osborn, Janesville; 3. Jeff King, Cedar Rapids; 4. Chris Sevey, Waterloo; 5. Jim Ross, Cedar Rapids; 6. Denny Osborn, Janesville; 7. Johnny Spaw, Cedar Rapids; 8. Scott Wennermark, Ely; 9. JJ Meyer, Cedar Rapids; 10. Kyle Hinrichs, Swisher; 11. Landon Cassill, Fairfax; 12. Lyle Williams, Center Point


FEATURE #2 (20laps)

1. Sevey  2. King  3. Denny Osborn  4. Wennermark  5. Fleck  6. Brad Osborn  7. Meyer  8. Spaw  9. Hinrichs  10. Cassill  11. Ross  12. Williams