(Cedar Rapids, IA  05/05/2006)—Racine, Minnesota driver Ross Zumbach picked up his first victory in the Budweiser Sportsmen division Friday night in just his second outing on the half-mile. The 16 year old driver is no stranger to Hawkeye Downs though as he ran in the former Legends division on the quarter-mile a number of years ago.


            On a night with temps befitting that of Zumbach’s home state of Minnesota he used the outside line to motor around veteran driver Bob Ahrendsen on lap 16 and then sailed to the win.


            Andy Duggan crossed the stripe in second followed by Ahrendsen, Dave McCalla, and Martin Ballard.


            Griffin McGrath of Cedar Rapids also picked up his first career half-mile win in the Miller Time Modified division Friday night, although the trip to Coca-Cola Victory Lane didn’t necessarily come easy. Several caution flags kept closing the field up but McGrath was able to hold off Tim Plummer who charged to the front after tangling with Arlo Becker earlier in the race. Jim Hanson finished a strong third while Aric Becker and Darrall Long crossed the stripe in fourth and fifth.


            Landon Cassill, another teenage driver at Hawkeye Downs, picked up the checkers  in the Performance Concepts Late Model feature despite running just a couple practice laps. Cassill was at  I-70 Speedway in Odessa, MO earlier in the day preparing for a Saturday ASA Late Model Series-Northern Division race. Cassill took a quick plane ride back to Cedar Rapids and made it to the track in time to get a couple warm-ups before his feature.


            Cassill started the feature in fifth and worked steadily through the field finding himself in second behind Curt VanDerWal with just 7 laps remaining. Cassill used a bump and run with five laps left to secure the lead and quickly pulled away from the rest of the field. VanDerWal finished second followed by Scott Wennermark, Kyle Hinrichs, and last week’s winner Jeff King.


            The Barron Motor Supply IMCA Stock Car Feature saw Kurt Bohnsack of Iowa City dominate the action after starting outside row one. Bohnsack, who also won a heat earlier in the evening, held off defending champion Brad Dvorak to secure the win. Logan Hale crossed the Coors Light Finish Line in third ahead of Randy Filling and Greg Hentrich.


            Tim Dains of Marion has a perfect streak going in the Barron Motor Supply IMCA Hobby Stock division having won both heats and both features he has run this season. Dains started the feature in the fifth row, worked his way to the front and collected the win ahead of Terry Shaffar. Rodney Grother scored another strong finish finishing in third while Kandi Floyd finished fourth for the second week in a row. Ron Fare finished fifth.


            The Sunline Hornets put on another great show with Nathan Ballard besting last weeks winner Creston Williams for the win. Roy Parker put the Bighouse Motorsports VW Golf across the stripe in third while Shawn Meyers notched fourth. Travis McCombs finished fifth.




HEAT 1- 1. Nathan Ballard, Marengo; 2. Travis McCombs, Center Point; 3. Jeff Ballard, Marengo; 4. Shawn Meyers, Cedar Rapids; 5. Derrick Beadle, Hiawatha; 6. Clint Sheppard, Hiawatha

HEAT 2- 2. Creston Williams, Atkins; 2. Roy Parker, Marion; 3. Dan Vincent, Solon; 4. Brian Bries, Norway; 5. Brad Fisher, Oxford; 6. Connie Binder, Clutier

FEATURE (12 laps) 1. Nathan Ballard; 2. Williams; 3.Parker; 4. Myers; 5. McCombs; 6. Vincent; 7. Jeff Ballard; 8. Sheppard; 9. Fisher; 10. Binder; 11. Beadle; Bries



HEAT 1- 1. Ron Fare, Cedar Rapids; 2. Rodney Grother, Cedar Rapids; 3. Jeremy Floyd, Cedar Rapids; 4. Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids; 5. Kandi Floyd, Cedar Rapids; 6. Matt Lacousiere, Cedar Rapids; 7. Dennis Klinsky, Ely; 8. Deb Mefford, Cedar Rapids

HEAT 2.- 1. Tim Dains, Marion; 2. Terry Shaffar, State Center; 3. Chad Vozenilek, Cedar Rapids; 4. Duanyne Herb, Marion; 5. Joe Sprague, Independence; 6. Gary Phantz, State Center; 7. Perry Thomsen, Cedar Rapids

FEATURE (15laps) 1. Dains; 2. Shaffar; 3. Grother; 4. Kandi Floyd; 5. Fare; 6. Siems; 7. Jeremy Floyd; 8. Sprague; 9. Phantz; 10. Klinsky; 11. Mefford; 12. Herb; 13. Lacoursiere; 14. Thomsen; 15. Vozenilek



HEAT 1- 1. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids; 2. Logan Hale, Cedar Rapids; 3. Scott Beauregard, Center Point; 4. Doug Otto, Cedar Falls; 5. Seth Thomas, Center point; 6. Dennis Hundley, Center Point

HEAT 2- 1. Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City; 2. Brad Dvorak, Cedar Rapids; 3. Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha; 4. Randy Filling, Toddville; 5. Chad Siems, Marion

FEATURE- 1. Bohnsack; 2. Bohnsack; 3. Hale; 4. Filling; 5. Hentrich; 6. Hundley; 7. Ahrendsen; 8. Otto; 9. Beauregard; 10. Thomas; 11. Siems



HEAT 1- 1. Aric Becker, Cedar Rapids; 2. Rocarek, Mount Vernon; 3. Shawn Stinger, Palo; 4. Time Plummer, Norway; 5. Steve Lindell, Marion; 6. Scott Strauss, Cedar Rapids

HEAT 2- 1. Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids; 2. Arlo Becker, Norway; 3. Griffin McGrath, Cedar Rapids; 4. Chad Willett, Alburnett; 5. Craig Bender, Cedar Rapids; 6. Darrell Long, Cedar Rapids

FEATURE (25 laps) 1. McGrath; 2. Plummer; 3. Hanson; 4. Aric Becker; 5. Long; 6. Strauss; 7. Lindell; 8. Arlo Becker; 9. Stinger; 10. Willett; 11. Bender; 12. Rocarek



HEAT 1- 1. Brian Franks, Central City, IA; 2. Andy Duggan, Marion, IA; 3. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Joey King, Silvis, IL; 5. Gene Peterson, Des Moines, IA; 6. Sonny Parker, Cedar Rapids, IA

HEAT 2- 1. Ross Zumbach, Racine, MN; 2. Martin Ballard, Marengo, IA; 3. Kevin Franks, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Kevin Lee, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Mark Hauder, Dubuque, IA; 6. Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids, IA

FEATURE (25 laps)  1. Zumbach; 2. Duggan; 3. Ahrendsen; 4. McCalla; 5. Ballard; 6. Brian Franks; 7. Lee; 8. Kevin Franks; 9. Peterson; 10. King; 11. Hauder; 12. Parker



FEATURE (25 laps) 1. Landon Cassill, Fairfax, IA; 2. Curt VanDerWal, Oskaloosa, IA; 3. Scott Wennermark, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Kyle Hinrichs, Swisher, IA; 5. Jeff King, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Andy Kluck, Little Chute, WI; 7. Craig Roberts, Des Moines