Speedway Souvenir Photo



By Brad Grupe


(Cedar Rapids, IA  05/01/09)—Johnny Spaw, Dave McCalla, Dave Ballstaedt, Roland Bohnsack, Nathan Chandler, and Scott Kosiztky all earned feature wins on All-Season Equipment/Kirkwood Kids Family Fun Night Friday night at Hawkeye Downs Speedway.


Miller Lite Late Models and Budweiser Mid-Am Sportsmen were battling for Papa Johns/I-Wireless Championship Cup points on the half-mile while Barron Motor Supply IMCA Stock Cars, Barron Motor Supply IMCA Hobby Stocks, and Sunline Hornets raced for points on the quarter-mile.  There was also a non-points Coors Light Modified vs. IMCA SportMod race on the quarter-mile.


In addition to regular racing on the big tracks , kids participated in a Big Wheel race along with a candy and nickel dash.



Brad Osborn grabbed the early lead in the Miller Lite Late Model feature but by lap three Jay Herbst was challenging for position. The two ran side-by-side for several laps before Herbst took command on lap seven and begin to pull away from the field as they battled for position.  Osborn and Brad Dvorak tangled and brought out a caution at the halfway mark bringing out the “lane choice” cone. Johnny Spaw, who set fast time earlier in the evening, opted to use the cone and started outside the second row with the leader Herbst solo in the first row.


Herbst appeared to hesitate as the field charged to the green and that coupled with a perfectly timed start from Spaw put the multi-time champion in the lead and he went on to collect his first weekly racing win at Hawkeye Downs in about 4 years.  Herbst maintained second with Dudley Fleck, Ken Reiser, and Joey Gase filling out the top of the order.


In Budweiser Sportsmen, it appeared to be business as usual for Dave McCalla as the defending champion notched his first win of the season. Bob Ahrendsen led the first couple circuits before Michael Weber passed three cars on the outside to assume command. McCalla zipped under Weber to take the lead for good four laps later crossing the stripe ahead of Weber, Doug Simon, and Andy Edwards.


Dave Ballastaedt III picked up his first career Hawkeye Downs win in the Barron Motor Supply IMCA Stock Cars. Ballstaedt drew the pole for the 25-lap feature and outpaced Bob Ahrendsen, Kurt Bohnsack, Brian Franks, and Rodney Grother for the win. Ahrendsen did make up some ground in the closing laps but was unable to mount a serious challenge.  Ballstaedt is in his second year of racing at Hawkeye Downs.


2008 Barron Motor Supply IMCA Hobby Stock points runner-up Roland Bohnsack established himself as the early favorite for the 2009 title by winning the 15-lap feature for that division Friday night. Bohnsack started outside the first row, survived a couple restarts and cruised to a relatively easy win. Bohnsack was chased to the stripe by Scott Siems, Nathan Ballard, Kandi Floyd, and Ron Dighton.


One of the fastest growing divisions at Hawkeye Downs, the Sunline Hornets, saw twenty-one cars start the 20-lap feature and the field ran a caution free race with Nathan Chandler collecting the win after starting ninth.  Chuck Hanson led in the early going but Chandler quickly took command and was untouchable the rest of the way. Derek Parrott, who also started deep in the field, finished second. Brad Chandler, Jim Hanson, and Shane Hanson filled out the top five.




Scott Kositzky, in a SportMod, prevailed in the IMCA SportMod vs. Coors Light Modified feature. Scott Grady led much of the event but he and Arlo Becker tangled with two laps to go sending them to the back and putting Kositzky on the point.  Kositzky took care of business on the restart and held off Tim dains for the win. Arlor becker rallied for third with Blake Carson and Creston Williams also placing in the top five.


Racing resumes next Friday night, May 8 with Miller Lite Late Models, Budweiser Mid-AM Sportsmen, Coors Light Modifieds, Barron Motor Supply IMCA Stock Cars, Barron Motor Supply IMCA Hobby Stocks, and Sunline Hornets all slated for action.




HEAT- 1. J. Herbst, Lacrosse, WI; 2. Thor Anderson, Bondaurant, IA; 3. Johnny Spaw, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Ken Reiser, Waukon, IA; 5. Brad Osborn, Janesville, IA; 6. Brad Dvorak, Lisbon, IA; 7. Joey Gase, Cedar Rapids, IA; 8. Jim Ross, Cedar Rapids, IA; 9. Justin Jennings; 10. Dudley Fleck, Cedar Rapids, IA; 11. Ron Boelts, Wellsburg, IA; 12. Curt Tillman, Rockford, IL; 13. Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids, IA

FEATURE(25 laps) 1. Spaw 2. Herbst 3. Fleck 4.Reiser 5.Gase 6. Jennings 7. Osborn 8.Boelts 9. Dvorak 10. Ross 11. Anderson  12. DNS-Tillman  13.DNS- Siems



HEAT- 1. Andy Edwards, New Hartford, IA; 2. Michael Weber, Ryan, IA; 3.Doug Simon, Marion, IA; 4.Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Andy Duggan, Marion, IA; 6. Travis Thompson, Atkins, IA; 7. Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids, IA

FEATURE (14 laps) 1. McCalla 2. Weber 3. Duggan 4. Simon  5. Edwards 6. Ahrendsen 7. Thompson



HEAT 1- 1. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City, IA; 3. Scooter Dulin, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Chad Siems, Shellsburg, IA; 5. Cory Houdek, Marion, IA; 6. Make Galli

HEAT 2- 1. Brian Franks, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Dave Ballstaedt III, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Rodney Grother, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Brian Beatty, Palo, IA; 5. Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha, IA;

FEATURE ( 25 laps) 1. Ballstaedt 2.Ahrendsen 3. Bohnsack 4. Franks  5.Grother 6.Beatty 7.Siems 8.Dulin 9.Houdek 10.Galli 11.Hentrich



HEAT- 1. Roland Bohnsack, Clutier, IA; 2. Ron Dighton, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Nathan Ballard, Marengo, IA; 4. Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Shaun Myers, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Kandi Floyd, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Deb Mefford, Marion, IA; 8. Malena Betzer, Cedar Rapids, IA; 9. Duayne Herb, Cedar Rapids, IA

FEATURE (15 laps) 1. Bohnsack 2. Siems  3. Ballard  4. Floyd  5. Dighton  6. Betzer 7. Mefford  8. Herb 9. Myers



HEAT 1- (Previous Feature Winners) 1. Derek Parrott, Marion, IA; 2. Nathan Chandler, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Brad Chandler, Vinton, IA; 4. Shane Hanson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Chuck Hanson, Marion, IA; 7. Jeff Selfridge, Marion, IA; 8. Merv Chandler, Cedar Rapids, IA

HEAT 2- (Non-Feature winners) 1. Jasen Freeman, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Steve Miedke  3. Steve Dighton, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Brogan Fiala, Fairfax, IA; 5. Christian Grady, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Tyler Whalen, Riverside, IA; 7. Bill Whalen, Jr. ; 8. Dan Burhite, Cedar Rapids, IA; 9. Brett Timmerman; 10. John  Whalen; 11. Charles Evens; 12. Jerey Heim; 13. Brad Burhite, Cedar Rapids, IA

FEATURE (20 laps) 1.N. Chandler  2.Parrott  3.B. Chandler  4.J. Hanson  5.S.Hanson  6.Selfridge  7. C. Hanson  8.M. Chandler  9.Freeman  10.Miedke  11.Grady  12.Fiala  13.S. Dighton  14.Jose Dejesus, Cedar Rapids, IA; 15. T.Whalen  16.J.Whalen  17. Heim  18.Evens  19.B.Whalen  20.B.Burhite  21.Timmerman  DNS-D.Burhite



FEATURE (25 laps) 1. Scott Kositzky, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Tim Dains, Marion, IA; 3.Arlo Becker, Norway, IA; 4. Blake Carson  5. Creston Williams, Atkins, IA; 6. Scott Grady, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Ken Kositzky, Cedar Rapids, IA; 8. Mike Dains, Marion, IA