(Cedar Rapids, IA042905)óA chilly night didnít deter racers or fans from opening the 80th anniversary season of racing at Hawkeye Downs Speedway. Hustler Turf Equipment presented racing in the Papa Johns Cup I-Wireless Series to kick off the 2005 season which features revised line-up procedures, increased car counts and new divisions.


††††††††††† Rick Gallo of Center Point won the first ever Marines.com Hornet Feature on Friday night. The Hornets are 4 cylinder front wheel drive cars that run on the quarter mile and they are part of the Full Throttle Energy Drink Stars of Tomorrow.


††††††††††† Chad Vozenilek took home the checkers in the 15 lap Barron Motor Supply IMCA Hobby Stock feature finishing ahead of Tim Dains and Brandon Herb. Vozenilek started in row three before motoring to his first win in the division. A caution with four laps remaining bunched the field but Vozenilek prevailed at the stripe.


††††††††††† Kurt Bohnsack held off Doug Simon to take top honors in the 20 lap Barron Motor Supply IMCA Stock Car feature. Simon made a last ditch effort to pass Bohnsack on the final lap and ended up spinning and lost several positions. Brad Dvorak, Bob Ahrendsen, Chad Siems and Cory Houdek finished the top of the order.


††††††††††† The Miller Time IMCA Asphalt Modified feature went to Tim Plummer but not before a late race caution set up an interesting last couple laps. As the field is realigned the racers must choose whether they want to start high or low as they pass a cone on the front stretch. Plummer was able to hold off some fast company on the restart as he held off Larry Clausen, Arlo Becker, Rodney Rocarek, and Chad Willett.


††††††††††† The Budweiser Late Model Sportsmen ran a pair of 20 lap events with Kevin Korsmo of Atkins taking the checkers in both events. Korsmo built a big lead and never looked back in the first 20-lapper finishing nearly 7 seconds ahead of Craig Bender. Martin Ballard finished third, Andy Duggan was fourth, and Brian Franks crossed the stripe in fifth.


††††††††††† In the second sportsmen feature, Korsmo started near the back and methodically picked his way through the field taking the lead on lap 8 using an outside move. Brian Franks, Dave McCalla, Andy Duggan, and Martin Ballard filled out the top of the field.


††††††††††† Landon Cassill nabbed his first career feature win in the Performance Concepts Late Models first feature holding off a determined Brad Osborn, the defending champion. Denny Osborn finished third with Johnny Spaw and Scott Wennermark right behind.


††††††††††† The second late model event turned was costly for a couple drivers including Scott Wennermark and Johnny Spaw.Wennermark, making his first start in the division, tagged the wall hard in turn one with three laps to go, heavily damaging his car. Spaw hit the wall exiting turn four on the final lap while battling race winner Jeff Watters for the lead. Landon Cassill finished in second with the damaged car of Spaw crossing the flagstand in third. Kyle Hinrichs and JJ Meyer filled out the top of the finishing chart.


Marines.com Hornets

Feature- 1. Rick Gallo, Center Point; 2. Brian Bries, Norway; 3. Connie Binder, Clutier; 4. Derrick Beadle, Hiawatha


Barron Motor Supply IMCA Hobby Stocks

Feature (15 laps) 1. Chad Vozenilek, Fairfax; 2. Tim Dains, Cedar Rapids; 3. Brandon Herb, Marion; 4. Roland Bohnsack, Clutier; 5. Ron Dighton, Cedar Rapids; 6. Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids; 7. Deb Mefford, Marion; 8. Perry Thomsen, Cedar Rapids; 9. Kandi Floyd, Cedar Rapids; 10. Roger Lacoursiere, Cedar Rapids; 11. Aaron Meyer, Cedar Rapids; DNS Terry Shaffar, State Center


Barron Motor Supply IMCA Stock Cars

Feature (20 laps) 1. Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City; 2. Brad Dvorak, Cedar Rapids; 3. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids; 4. Chad Siems, Mt. Auburn; 5. Cory Houdek, Marion; 6. Logan Hale, Cedar Rapids; 7. Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha; 8. Doug Simon, Marion; 9. Wendy Carnahan, Cedar Rapids


Miller Time IMCA Asphalt Modifieds

Feature ( 30 laps) 1. Tim Plummer, Norway; 2. Larry Clausen, Cedar Rapids; 3. Arlo Becker, Atkins; 4. Rodney Rocarek, Mt. Vernon; 5. Chad Willett, Alburnett; 6. Shawn Stinger, Palo; 7. Scott Grady, Cedar Rapids; 8. Scott Strauss, Cedar Rapids; 9. Aric Becker, Cedar Rapids; 10. Pat Flannagan, Cedar Rapids; 11. Griffin McGrath, Cedar Rapids; 12. Bob Gase, Cedar Rapids; 13. Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids; 14. Brian Allen, Hiawatha, 15. Steve Lindell, Marion; DNS Darrell Long, Cedar Rapids; DNS Keith Siefken, Cedar Rapids


Budweiser Late Model Sportsmen

Feature #1 (20 laps) 1. Kevin Korsmo, Atkins; 2. Craig Bender, Cedar Rapids; 3. Martin Ballard, Marengo; 4. Andy Duggan, Marion; 5. Brian Franks, Central City; 6. Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids; 7. Mark Hauder, Dubuque; 8. Gene Peterson, Des Moines; 9. Mel Schappert, Cedar Rapids; DNS-Steve Setzer, Kevin Lee

Feature #2 (20 laps) 1. Kevin Korsmo; 2. Brian Franks; 3. Dave McCalla; 4. Andy Duggan; 5. Martin Ballard; 6. Craig Bender; 7. Gene Peterson; 8. Mel Schappert; 9. Mark Hauder; DNS-Kevin Lee


Performance Concepts late Models

Feature #1 (20 laps) 1. Landon Cassill, Fairfax; 2. Brad Osborn, Janesville; 3. Denny Osborn, Janesville; 4. Johnny Spaw, Cedar Rapids; 5. Scott Wennermark, Ely; 6. Lyle Hinrichs, Swisher; 7. Lyle Williams, Center Point; 8. JJ Meyer, Cedar Rapids; 9. Jim Ross, Cedar Rapids; 10. Chris Sevey, Waterloo; 11. Jeff Watters, Mineral Point, WI; 12. Jeff King, Cedar Rapids; 13. Dudley Fleck, Cedar Rapids

Feature #2 (20 laps) 1. Watters; 2. Cassill; 3. Spaw; 4. Hinrichs; 5. Meyer; 6. Ross; 7. Williams; 8. Fleck; 9. Wennermark; 10. B. Osborn; 11. D. OsbornDNS- Sevey, King