(Cedar Rapids, IA  042503)—A great crowd took advantage of a picture perfect Spring evening and filed into Hawkeye Downs Speedway as The Gazette presented the season opener for the 2003 season.


            In addition to the four regular divisions of the ASA Papa Johns Cup Iowa Wireless Stock Car Championships the Duffy’s Collectible Cars Legends were on hand. Also on the track were a group running exhibition races for the Bandelero cars.


            Justin Diercks of Davenport repeated his opening night fete of last season by winning the 30-lap Performance Concepts Late Model Feature. Diercks also won a heat earlier and finished ahead of  Dudley Fleck, Johnny Spaw, Brad Osborn, and Randy Coghlan.


            Jeff King of Cedar Rapids won the Cedar Rapids Dodge Fast Dash in the late Model division.


            The familiar #83 Wendy’s sponsored car of Johnny Mudd posted the win in the renamed Budweiser Late Model Sportsmen division feature. The 30-lap affair saw Mudd edge out John Henecke for the checkers. Finishing behind them were any Andy Duggan, Tom Burke, and Scott Wennermark.


            The 30-lap miller Time Modified feature became a race of attrition as multiple crashes pared the field significantly during the course of the race. When the checkers finally flew Larry Clausen was at the head of the pack. According to Alliant Energy Timing and Scoring, he was followed to the stripe by Brian Allen, Max Corporon, Chad Willett, and rookie Shawn Stinger. Stinger and Corporon were involved in an accident earlier but both were able to continue and work through the field to post strong finishes.


            Bob Ahrendsen got off to a good start on the season by winning the Barron Motor Supply Super Stocks 30-lap feature. Ahrendsen, who is one of a handful of drivers that compete in more than one division,  finished ahead of  Randy Filling, Kurt Bohnsack, Jim Hanson, and  Doug Simon.


            Newcomer Larry Will took the checkers in the Duffy’s Collectible Cars Legends feature. Finishing behind Will in the 20-lap race were Tom Frady, Garrett Will, Eric Appleget, and Crystal Horn. The Legends will be appearing periodically throughout the season.


            Next Friday, May 2, KHAK and Hochststeler Towing present the Mid-American Super Trucks along with the regular divisions of the ASA Papa Johns Cup Iowa Wireless Stock Car Championships.







Hawkeye Downs Speedway-Cedar Rapids, IA

Results for 4/26/03

Duffy’s Collectible Cars Legends

FEATURE (20laps)

  1. Larry Will
  2. Tom Frady, Cedar Rapids
  3. Garrett Will
  4. Eric Appleget, Ely
  5. Crystal Horn, Marion
  6. Ross Zumbach, Racine, MN
  7. Brett Thomas, Cedar Rapids
  8. Keith Meyer, Cedar Rapids
  9. Landon Cassill, Fairfax


Miller Tim Modifieds

Dash- Arlo Becker

Heat- Max Corporon

FEATURE (30 laps)

  1. Larry Clausen, Cedar Rapids
  2. Brian Allen, Hiawatha
  3. Max Corporon. Marion
  4. Chad Willett, Cedar Rapids
  5. Shawn Stinger, Palo
  6. Rodney Rocarek, Mt. Vernon
  7. Jim Williams, Cedar Rapids
  8. Bob Gase, Cedar Rapids
  9. Arlo Becker, Atkins
  10. Steve Lindell, Marion
  11. Darrell Long, Cedar Rapids
  12. Kyle Hinrichs, Swisher
  13. Bob Glick, Evansdale
  14. John Baker, Toddville


Barron Motor Supply Super Stocks

Dash- Cory Houdek,

Heat #1- Paul Walder

Heat #2- Jim Hanson


  1. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids
  2. Randy Filling, Toddville
  3. Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City
  4. Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids
  5. Doug Simon, Marion
  6. Cory Houdek, Anamosa
  7. Jayson Scott, Cedar Rapids
  8. Paul Walder, Cedar Rapids
  9. Don Johnson, Cedar Rapids
  10. Arnie Reif, Hiawatha
  11. Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha
  12. Brian Helle, Cedar Rapids
  13. Scott Grady, Walker
  14. Chad Siems, Mt. Auburn
  15. Aric Becker,  Cedar Rapids
  16. David Mccalla, Cedar Rapids
  17. Wendy Carnahan, Cedar Rapids
  18. Roland Bohnsack, Clutier
  19. Sonny Parker, Cedar Rapids
  20. Kevin Franks,  Cedar Rapids
  21. Brenda Thomsen, Cedar Rapids
  22. Paul Nagle, Nevada


Budweiser Sportsmen

Dash- Tom Burke

Heat- Scott Wennermark


  1. Johnny Mudd, Cedar Rapids
  2. John Henecke, Hiawatha
  3. Andy Duggan, Marion
  4. Tom Burke, Nevada
  5. Scott Wennermark,  Cedar Rapids
  6. Curt VanDerWal, Oskaloosa
  7. Kevin Korsmo, Atkins
  8. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids
  9. Craig Bender, Cedar Rapids
  10. Martin Ballard, Marengo
  11. Mel Schappert, Cedar Rapids
  12. Lyle Williams, Center Point
  13. Robb Keeney, Cedar Rapids
  14. Jason Beauregard, Cedar Rapids
  15. Brian Franks, Central City
  16. Gene Peterson, Des Moines
  17. Ron Fisher, Shellsburg


Performance Concepts Late Models

Dash- Jeff King

Heat- Justin Diercks


  1. Justin Diercks, Davenport
  2. Dudley Fleck, Cedar Rapids
  3. Johnny Spaw, Cedar Rapids
  4. Brad Osborn, Janesville
  5. Randy Coghlan, Toddville
  6. Matt Lundberg, West Des Moines
  7. Jim Ross, Cedar Rapids
  8. Jeff King, Cedar Rapids
  9. Mike Ehde, Prarie Du Chien, WI
  10. Art Christoffersen, Toddville
  11. Lorin Kurth, Waukon
  12. Denny Osborn, Janesville
  13. Scott Delsing, Cedar Rapids
  14. Wade Prasil, Cedar Rapids
  15. Chris Sevey, Waterloo
  16. Marty Diercks, Bettendorf
  17. Brian Gibson, Walford
  18. JJ Meyer, Cedar Rapids